Two Things

First, I finally got my invitation to Ravelry! I still have a long way to go in terms of adding projects and notes, but hopefully I’ll get it done sometime soon. If you’re on Ravelry, let me know so I can add you to my friends! My username: caitlyn

Second, I would really like your opinions about my Chevron Scarf from Last Minute Knitted Gifts.

chevronscarf2.jpg

I am using mediumweight Socks That Rock in Puck’s Mischief and Downpour, and I’m very unsure of whether these two colorways mesh well together. To me, the tan stands out in a bad way.  I’m on the fence about whether I should continue with it or rip and begin again with new colors. I keep stopping after every few rows to examine the color combinations, and I’ve looked closely at this scarf so much that I am almost tired of it. If I start over completely, I’m thinking of STR Hard Rock with Louet Gems in Sandalwood. Tell me what you think!

chevronscarf1.jpg

20 Comments on “Two Things”

  1. Jennifer says:

    I like it. I don’t think the tan stands out too much at all. Of course, it all depends on what you like. If you aren’t feeling it, well then that is the opinion that counts.

  2. Marin says:

    Caitlyn, I agree with Jennifer. I like it but then again I like a bunch of colors together.

  3. jen says:

    i think you are CRAZY. like totally loco girlie. cause it will take the rest of your life to knit it, and why rip it out? it’s so pretty. Altho i undestand how you feel. Mine the red fromt he froofraw colorway is moving back and forth from end to end of the scarf and i’m not sure i like it, but them i see the browns and oranges and i’m like oh pretty. It’s such a weird knit for me.
    adding you on ravelry

  4. Nell says:

    I love the combination!!!! But whatever you think is best.

  5. Oiyi says:

    I like it a lot.

  6. Tonia says:

    I love those 2 colors together. Don’t rip it out.

    I am on ravelry too. I am knittedtoat.

  7. Julia says:

    I think it looks nice! Especially from a distance it will look very earthy yet colorful. I mean, (almost) everything we knit ourselves looks funky and annoying up close, but who stares at it at that range? i personally like these colors a lot. =)

  8. stacey says:

    I love it! I think the color combo is great….I didn’t see the tan standing out until I read your mention of it…

  9. gleek says:

    hhmmm, i like it! i think that they go well together.. i’m friending you in ravelry right now 😉

  10. Heather says:

    I actually like it too. I think the color combo shows a lot of depth and movement. Stick with it!

  11. s t a c i says:

    I just friended you on Ravelry!

  12. Jes says:

    It’s hard to tell in the picture which is the tan. It looks like it’s working from here. Of course if you don’t like it, and you’re not happy with it, it seems silly to invest the time doing it. Especially if you have yarns in the stash to do it another way. Do you have another set of needles that you could cast on with with the other colors? That way you could see if that works better. I do this a lot. That way you don’t lose your work, and if you want you can make both (usually one ends up in the frog pond for me, tho) Just a thought!

    I friended you on ravlery. Welcome to the party 🙂

  13. Leslie says:

    I think it’s beautiful. Knit on!

  14. kristin says:

    Don’t rip! I love it! Gorgeous colors.

  15. Leslie says:

    I really like the way these two colors look together. But I know what you’re seeing . . . there’s not a lot of contrast . . dark/light. Both are lighter shades and are blending together. Now, *I* think that looks pretty. You’ve seen my Chevron (which is still on the needles *gulp*) and I have the Watermelon Tourmaline with the Covelite. I’m going to be doing a second one (if and when I ever finish the first one *lol*) so you could always do a more contrasted one again.

    OK, that was a long answer. I like it. But it’s totally up to you.

  16. Lolly says:

    I think it is beautiful – keep it! I really like these colors together 🙂

  17. Karen says:

    I think they both look great together.

    Have fun with Ravelry!

  18. jcrecipe says:

    I like it. The color combination will go with many different styles of outfits. I agree that if you are not comfortable with the colors, it will not be worn.

  19. keri says:

    I think it’s pretty – although I’m having a hard time telling from my computer screen. I say give it a shot and finish it – if you don’t like it at the end well you have another christmas gift finished right? =)

  20. I think the colors work well together, and the tan doesn’t bother me too much. I don’t think it’s worth ripping out! But, to play devil’s advocate, I really like the STR Hard Rock a lot. There’s a lot of nice contrast in that colorway that I think would look really good for this kind of scarf.

    Decisions, decisions! In any event, it looks like you have two terrific color combos, so whatever you decide will look great!