Socks and Mittens for Christmas

Thank you for all of your input about my Chevron Scarf! I really appreciated the feedback. I think I do like the color combination, but after comtemplating it so much I feel like I still need a little more space from the scarf. So I will leave it on the needles and go back to it down the road.

This week, I worked on finishing two more gifts for my sister.

cherrytreehillpeacock2.jpg

Yarn: Cherry Tree Hill Supersock, Peacock, 1 skein
Pattern: My generic 56 stitch top-down sock with short-row heel
Needles: US #1 / 32″ Addi Turbo for Magic Loop

Inspired by Ruth, I also knit up a pair of mittens.

Yarn: Manos del Uruguay, Color 117, less than 1 skein
Pattern: Tweedy Mittens
Needles: US #8 / 40″ Addi Turbos for Magic Loop

tweedymittensv1_1.jpg

tweedymittensv1_2.jpg
Me modeling the mittens…they are a little big

Originally, I started this pattern using grey Plymouth Encore and red Debbie Bliss Cashmerino Aran for striped mittens. After knitting up the first one, I was completely unmotivated to continue. My stripes weren’t as neat as I wanted them to be, even though I used the jogless jog technique. So I ripped the entire mitten and didn’t know if I would try another. Then, I happened to come across a photo of a beautiful mitten knitted up in single color of Malabrigo Worsted, and I immediately thought of the one lone skein of purply Manos that had been in my stash for ages. I was so happy that it worked for the mittens! I really like the “homespun” look for this pattern. I see myself knitting more mittens, and perhaps even adjusting the pattern to make handwarmers.

11 Comments on “Socks and Mittens for Christmas”

  1. Tonia says:

    The socks and mittens look great. I am sure that your sister will love them.

  2. Jennifer says:

    I love them! I bet the Manos makes very cozy mittens.

  3. Leslie says:

    I really like the mittens! I know what you mean about the Chevron. Mine’s on the side too along with the Entrelac shawl that will take me f-o-r-e-v-e-r to finish. But I’m in no hurry for that anyways. I guess I go into projects conceding that they’re either going to be ones I have to finish quickly and stay on top of or I decide right off the bat that they’re going to be long-term ones. Back when I went on my almost two month knitting hiatus I had a ton of things on the needles and didn’t have my mindset in that way. So, consequently, I felt completely overwhelmed with all of the projects. Now I just make sure to tell myself the order in which I need to finish things . . and when I have at least two projects that I have going that I need finished right away, I make sure to not start anything until I finish them. Kinda like the queue in Ravelry. Now I just have one in my head. 😉

  4. Oiyi says:

    Love the mittens!!! Only one skein? That’s great. I have 3 skeins of that Manos in my stash. Sigh…I love purple!

  5. Beth says:

    Your sister will be so excited with her beautiful gifts! I have some leftover skeins of Malabrigo and I think mittens will be a great idea. I’m so glad you mentioned that!

  6. joyce says:

    Great socks and mittens. Lucky sister. The only thing I’m knitting for mine is a black scarf (her request). I haven’t finished knitting my son’s red socks yet…I think he forgot about them.

  7. Oooh–I love the mittens! And the socks! I’m sure your sister will love them.

    You’re really trucking along with the gifts! I only wish I had such progress to show–I knit most of this weekend but had to rip everything out because the hat came out too big and the mittens came out too small. Grr. I will have to check out that nice tweedy mitten pattern–I have two skeins of malabrigo that need to be used up! Thanks for the link!

  8. Jes says:

    Both are really pretty. You’re sister is one lucky gal to get all those hand knits!

  9. keri says:

    Ooh those mittens look so soft and cozy!

  10. Lolly says:

    I have been thinking about some good mittens of late. Seeing yours makes me want some even more. I love the purple. Great socks too – I love your simple patterns and fancy yarns 😉

  11. Jodi says:

    Gorgeous knits! They both show off variegated yarn beautifully.