Apple Crisp

Happy New Year!  I hope you had a wonderful holiday with your family and friends.  I have been enjoying a lovely time off from work, and there has been much baking going on in the last couple of weeks.  In addition to the Espresso Chocolate Shortbread Cookies, I also made Swedish Visiting Cake, lemon bars, oatmeal raisin cookies, and apple crisp.  The apple crisp recipe is new to me and came from a colleague who adapted it from The California Cookbook (1970) by Jeanne Voltz.  The crisp is simple but delicious, and is now my go-to recipe when I don’t feel like rolling out the dough for apple pie.

applecrisp.jpg

6-8 apples to yield approximately 6 cups (I used 6 small golden delicious apples)
1 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
3/4 cup water
1 1/2 cup sugar
1 1/8 cup flour
10 1/2 tablespoons butter, cold (I diced the butter right before using it)

Peel, core, and cut apples into 1/2 inch slices and place in a buttered 7 x 11 baking dish. Stir cinnamon into water and pour mixture over apples. Work together sugar, flour, and butter with fingertips until crumbly and distribute over apples. Bake uncovered at 400 degrees for 35-40 minutes (I baked it for about 45-50 minutes because I wanted my crust a little more golden). Serve warm or cold with vanilla ice-cream.  Enjoy!

8 Comments on “Apple Crisp”

  1. Mintyfresh says:

    yum! apple desserts of all kinds are so comforting. Happy new year!

  2. Oiyi says:

    Thanks for a simple recipe! I love apple desserts, especially a la mode!

    Happy New Year!

  3. ruth says:

    hey hey! hope you guys had a good holiday! sounds like you’ve been doing alot of baking, that’s really cool! i love apple crisp + ice cream, i prefer it over apple pie =)

  4. Beth says:

    Yum! That looks delicious! Happy New Year!

  5. That looks delicious! Warm apple desserts and vanilla ice cream are always welcome with me. This recipe looks fast and easy–thanks for sharing! I will have to try it!

  6. Oiyi says:

    Just made this tonight. Delicious! It was just the simple recipe I needed since I can’t stand being on my feet for too long.

  7. Tonia says:

    Oh apple crisp is one of my favorites.

    Happy New Year!!

  8. joyce says:

    I love apple crisp. I’m lazy to make it so I always wait until my cousin makes it. It sounds simple enough…