More Mitts for Mom

armwarmers2a.jpg

armwarmers2b.jpg

Yarn: Cascade Yarns Cash Vero, Color 19
Pattern: Irish Hiking Wrist Warmers
Needles: US #7 / 32 inches for Magic Loop
Modifications: Knit in the round. Many thanks to Marin for teaching me how to do this so very long ago! These are my mods for circular knitting:
Cast on 38 stitches and join the round.
Rows 1-7: K2, P2, K6, P2, K2, P2, K6, P2, K2, P2, K6, P2, K2
Row 8: K2, P2, CF6, P2, K2, P2, CF6, P2, K2, P2, CF6, P2, K2
Knit rounds 1-26 as above.
From rounds 27-38, knit back and forth (i.e., not in the round), maintaining the cable pattern. The odd rows (WS) here will be P2, K2, P6, K2, P2, K2, P6, K2, P2, K2, P6, K2, P2. The even rows (RS) are the same as above.
Re-join to knitting in the round on round 39. Stop after round 45, and knit 7 rounds of 1×1 ribbing.

6 Comments on “More Mitts for Mom”

  1. Beth says:

    I know your mom is happy and warm with two new sets of mitts! These are really pretty, too.

  2. A beautiful color! Great photos, too. I’m sure your mom will love them.

  3. Jennifer says:

    Lovely! I love the color.

  4. Leslie says:

    Absolutely lovely!!

  5. Karen says:

    Very pretty and a gorgeous color! Your Mom will have warm and toasty hands all winter.

  6. Meg says:

    These are gorgeous! I can’t wait to make a pair. Because I knit a little tighter than most people, I have to ask: How many stitched per inch should I aim for?