Year in Review

Today is my third blogging anniversary, and the tradition for me on this day is to reflect on the past year.  After my first year of blogging, I wrote about the many roles of knitting in my life, how blogging connected me to inspiring individuals, and my excitement at exploring the craft of spinning. Overall, I was excited about the fiber arts and eager to see what would unfold in the coming months. Last year, my reflection was noticeably less optimistic — I was disappointed in myself because I felt that I was all over the place with my crafting and didn’t excel at any one thing.  I felt lost with my crafting.

If I had to describe my feelings about the past year in one word, it would be content. This was the year that I switched over from “Knot Without My Knitting” to “Knitter in the Kitchen,” which more accurately expresses my interests in knitting, cooking, and baking.  I seem to have settled on these crafts as my primary hobbies and I am quite happy with them.  I finally let myself feel okay when I preferred one over the others.  Instead of viewing them as competing interests for my time, I am now perfectly comfortable cycling through them in accordance to what I am currently interested in doing.  It’s okay for certain hobbies to be on the back burner for awhile; I no longer feel guilty for ignoring my baking because I am focusing on knitting, or vice versa.  I am still making progress.  In essence, the change this year occurred in my perspective. 

Last year I wasn’t ready at all to set goals for 2007, which bothered me because I am a goal-oriented person.  This year, I have some loose goals for 2008.

Knitting:
–Finish Chevron Scarf (in progress since October 2007)
–Finish Central Park Hoodie (in progress since August 2007)
–Finish Wicked Sweater (in progress since August 2007)
–Knit Juno Regina (gift)
–Knit another Clapotis (gift)
–Knit at least one pair of socks (gift)

Spinning:
Spin.  At least a little.  Once in awhile.

Cooking/Baking:
Try at least one new recipe per month.

As you can see, I am trying to keep it simple in order to keep it fun.  We’ll see how I do this year!

10 Comments on “Year in Review”

  1. gleek says:

    happy blogiversary! yes, i feel like “knitter in the kitchen” really suits you best. i’m sure that this year is really going to explode for you now that you have a better balance of your crafts. here’s to another great year!

  2. Suzie says:

    Congrats on your 3rd Anniversary! I understand how you feel about “content”. Sometimes I wonder for myself–whether it makes sense to have a blog at all these days! Anyway, here’s to more years of Knitter in the Kitchen!!

  3. Mintyfresh says:

    Congrats on 3 years!! I once made a resolution to cook one new recipe a week (I subscribed to 2 cooking magazines, so it wasn’t like I didn’t have new recipes pouring in). I kept it up for about 6 months, and a lot have been incorporated into my regular rotation now. So I recommend!

  4. Happy Third Blogiversary!!! I still enjoy reading your blog as much as ever. Looking forward to the next year and more cooking, knitting, and spinning adventures!

  5. Jennifer says:

    Happy Blogiversary! I like your goals. Keeping it simple is good. Whatever makes you happy is the right thing when it comes to hobbies.

  6. stacey says:

    Happy Blogiversary!! Sounds like you are truly comfortable – it’s all we can ask for!

  7. keri says:

    Big congrats to you for 3 years and I’m so happy you’ve found a groove that works for you – that’s what it’s all about! =)

  8. Beth says:

    Congralutions on another great year of blogging! I enjoy your blog no matter what you choose to write about. 🙂

    Your goals are good and you’re going to have a great year! I want to knit Juno Regina and Clapotis, so let me know if you want to have an informal KAL. (Although, I’m not always very good at finishing those!)

  9. Karen says:

    Happy blog birthday! Sounds like doable goals you set for yourself this year. I’m glad you are content with all your different interests. I need to work on that myself.

  10. Julia says:

    That sounds really, really good! Very inspiring. I get the same way when favoring non-knitting projects over knitting. Especially lately with the move, I haven’t knit in a week! I have this big sense of guilt which doesn’t make a drop of sense since I’m moving, starting school, and looking for work! Yet there it is…I’m trying to be rational and let the guilt go. i also hate when i feel guilty for not keeping up with blogs, which just isn’t feasible right now. Focusing on keeping it joyful and simple is a good idea!