Struggling with the Sleeves

centralparkhoodie2.jpg

I feel like I’m on sleeve island with the Central Park Hoodie. I finished the first sleeve over two weeks ago and immediately cast on for the second one (seen above), but I’m still only about 40% through. Part of the problem is that I got distracted by a couple of other projects. I knit another pair of Irish Hiking Wrist Warmers for a friend, and then another Noro Hat (Ravelry link) for my supervisor because she really liked mine. And I keep wanting to start new projects — like the Linen Stitch Scarflet, Foliage, and Mabel’s Scarf, just to name a few. Originally I was trying to get Central Park Hoodie and the Chevron Scarf off the needles before casting on for anything new, but I’m just tired of my current projects and am pretty much ready to be done with them.  Instead of being fun, I feel like I’m slogging through them.  But I have to fight this startitis in order to make any progress!  Ugh…definitely not one of my best knitting moments right now…

8 Comments on “Struggling with the Sleeves”

  1. Ugh, I completely empathize. Several of my projects have been completely stalled out for at least half a year. I vote for giving into the startitis, making some new things, then coming back to the CPH and Chevron Scarf later!

  2. stacey says:

    it is hard when you get to that point. You are so close though!!! Knit on! If you finish, there will still be plenty of winter to wear the CPH!

  3. Jennifer says:

    Long projects like sweaters are like that. One gets to the point where the knitting becomes boring and you just want it done. I’ve got no advice other than to keep on with it through the blehness. Once it’s all done, you’ll be thrilled with it again.

  4. Leslie says:

    Thanks so much . . . you just added about three more projects to my Ravelry queue ;P. Seriously though, get something finished. That’s my problem also . . I get too much going and then get all bogged down and frustrated because I have 16+ UFOs and nothing finished. You have to complete something in order to keep the momentum going. I can’t wait to see this CPH finished though, so . . GET ‘ER DONE!!!!

  5. Beth says:

    If it makes you feel any better, I’m struggling with the same problem. I did finish my daughter’s hat but promptly started another felted bag instead of getting back to Ariann (started last fall). Then last night I started a shawl. I think that spring being close by is making me not want to knit the sweater.

  6. keri says:

    It’s very pretty – and the yarn has a lovely tweedy look that I really like. Here’s hoping you get off sleeve island soon – or atleast help yourself to a margarita! 😉

  7. kathy b says:

    But the cables are so beautiful

  8. Peacock Chic says:

    Well, I am officially on the sleeve island with you as that is where I am with my CPH. I have to build and raft and signal for help though because I need to get this finished in 10 days.

    S.O.S!!!