Happy Valentine’s Day

nutellasandwich1a.jpg

One thing I learned while baking Hazelnut Nutella Sandwich Cookies is that I could definitely use some practice at rolling out dough evenly. After refrigerating it for two hours as directed, it was so hard that I couldn’t roll it out at all. So I let it rest at room temp for a few minutes until it was more malleable. But by the time I got it rolled out and cut, the dough was much too soft and the cookies wouldn’t hold their shape when I transferred them to the baking sheet! On my third attempt, I finally had a lightbulb moment: roll out the dough to the desired thickness, refrigerate for 10 minutes, then cut and bake. This was the only way I could roll to 1/16″-ish successfully. What are some of your tips and tricks for rolling out cookie dough?

These cookies were quite yummy and were the perfect excuse for me to buy my very first jar of Nutella. I would certainly make them again!

nutellasandwich2.jpg

18 Comments on “Happy Valentine’s Day”

  1. Mintyfresh says:

    I agree that straight out of the fridge is impossible–I always hold my ball of dough in my hands to warm it up a bit. I have a marble rolling pin, which helps to keep the dough cool. But mostly I think it’s best to work in small bits, so that you can be relatively fast. I’m not saying there’s some frenzied approach to the baking, but it doesn’t give the dough time to get too warm. Sometimes it just depends on the dough, though. They look yummy!

  2. stacey says:

    Yeah – I’m with minty – too hard straight from the fridge! I also work in small bits, then you don’t have to refrigerate them as long…..nutella is soooooo good!

  3. Happy Valentine’s Day to you, too! Hooray for Nutella–I’m nuts about that stuff. Your heart cookies look great!

    I think that refrigerating the dough after you roll it out is a pretty good idea–June of Twosheep made some Samoas (yes, homemade versions of those yummy Girl Scout cookies) and she mentioned chilling (freezing, really) the dough after she rolled it out, but before she cut the cookies.

  4. mari says:

    i don’t have any experience making rolled cookies, but those look yummy! i have to try to make them for rob – nutella is his favorite (we always have at least one jar in the cupboard!)

  5. gleek says:

    oh, god.. those look SOOOOO good! i love nutella. i just wish it weren’t so awful for you 🙂

  6. Oiyi says:

    Yeah, I always chill my rolled dough before baking. It helps hold it’s shape better. And it’s definitely crucial in crusts.

  7. yaiAnn says:

    What you did was EXACTLY what I would suggest as well as what Oiyisaid too. I would also try using a spatula to transfer them to the pan as well.

  8. Julia says:

    Holy yum. I have no tricks to rolling things…it’s all about the fudging: sprinkling a little water on, gluing cracks and tears closed, and cutting off weird spots. Happy Valentine’s Day!

  9. Jennifer says:

    Happy Valentine’s day! I’m so hungry looking at those delicious cookies.

  10. Christina says:

    One thing I learned from watching Jacques Pepin’s PBS series is, with refrigerated, butter-rich dough, if you use all your body weight and make a series of valleys in the dough with the rolling pin both horizontally and vertically, it breaks up some of the stiffness so you can roll it out, without cooling the dough too much.

  11. Leslie says:

    Happy Valentine’s Day!! *hugs*

  12. Sara says:

    A tip for rolling dough out to an even thickness is the put wide rubberbands (like those from the broccoli or asparagus bunches) around your rolling pin on either end. Stack them the same height off the pin as you want your dough to be thick. Another way to get the same effect is to put two narrow pieces of wood in the thickness you want (like long rulers) on your rolling surface, close enough together that your rolling pin will come down on both, and roll out the dough between them. I can’t take credit for these tips…I think they came from Alton Brown. 🙂 Good luck!

    Sara

  13. Renna says:

    Wow. I had a real “duh” moment when I read of your lightbulb moment. I have that same problem as you, in that my cookie cutter cookies become terribly mishapen when I try to move them to the pan. Refrigerating them at that point for a short bit makes perfect sense.

    Thanks for that tip! 🙂

  14. Beth says:

    My tip for rolling out cookies is that I don’t do it. 🙂 I do have one recipe which requires rolling and cutting. The dough is really sticky and it requires a lot of flour, so the rolling isn’t too bad.

  15. Lu says:

    Your “first” jar of Nutella? I could not imagine a childhood without Nutella!

  16. MJ says:

    Is it really your first jar of Nutella? For some reason I find that funny. I do so love the Nutella, and it’s great with peanut butter as well! (The Italians eat it with butter, which makes it even more decadent.)

  17. Caroline says:

    Those cookie look delish! Now that you’ve bought your first jar of Nutella, there’s no going back. My kids like to dip bananas in it. Mmmmm healthy and fattening all at once.

  18. joyce says:

    I love nutella! Giada (everyday italian) compared it to how americans eat peanut butter. When I have the energy and the motivation to bake I have to try these!