Stitches West 2008

stitches08-1.jpg

I had a great time with my friends on the Stitch ‘n Ride train from Sacramento to Santa Clara. This was my first time going to Stitches, and I think a big part of the fun was chatting and knitting together during the trip. I didn’t take any photos at Stitches, so all I have to show are my purchases.

stitches08-7.jpg
My Ravelry t-shirt and sticker!

stitches08-2.jpg
Claudia Hand Painted Fingering in Oops

stitches08-3.jpg
Claudia Hand Painted Fingering in Cabin Fever

stitches08-4.jpg
Koigu KPPPM in P430

stitches08-5.jpg
Claudia Hand Painted Fingering 55 (55% silk and 45% merino!) in Just Plum

stitches08-6.jpg
Malabrigo Silky Merino in Stonechat

stitches08-8.jpg
All the yarn together

As you can see, I am a huge fan of Claudia Hand Painted Yarns. I usually purchase it online but sometimes the colors don’t turn out to be what I anticipated so it was wonderful to see so many colorways in person! I definitely had to exercise some restraint with my purchases…otherwise you would see even more sock yarn here.

In knitting news — I finished the Chevron Scarf and I am 99% done with the Central Park Hoodie, so I should have a couple of FO posts soon!

17 Comments on “Stitches West 2008”

  1. Jennifer says:

    I’m glad you had a great time! I love all the stash enhancement!

  2. lekkercraft says:

    Oooh nice haul! That sikly merino looks divine. I’m guessing you are a big purple fan? 🙂

  3. Beth says:

    Wow, what beautiful yarns you bought! It sounds like you had a really great time. Can’t wait to see your FOs!

  4. ruth says:

    i’m so glad you went, otherwise i wouldn’t have gone either. it was so fun! i also have to say, you’re getting pretty good at the photography stuff. this post definitely qualifies as a yarn p*rn post (i can’t resist Claudia Handpainted either). =)

  5. keri says:

    Ooh what lovely choices you made – the colors are scrumptious!

  6. Leslie says:

    Oh boy, I’m droooooling over here. That Malabrigo is to die for! I love all of it and I’m sure you’re going to make some amazing stuff. What’s the plan for the Malabrigo? I’m anxious to see the CPH too!!

  7. Julia says:

    Such. beautiful. yarn. Those colorways are my favorite! So, no SnB tonight due to the big project, but soon! i can’t wait to go to my first SnB (we didn’t have any in berkeley or Stockton) :oD

  8. Caroline says:

    I’m a big Claudia handpainted yarn fanatic too, and I love the colors you chose. One of these years, I’m going to make it to Stitches…and I plan to take two or three empty suitcases.

  9. Mama Urchin says:

    That t-shirt is adorable and the yarn, yum.

  10. stacey says:

    Beautiful yarn….the purples and pinks are so pretty!!!!! It’s so hard buying hand dyed yarns on line – seeing them in person is so much better!

  11. Oiyi says:

    Oh, I love all your purchases. What a cute t-shirt!

  12. gleek says:

    look at all that lovely yarn AND the cute ravelry tshirt! sounds like it was a lot of fun 🙂

  13. What a haul! All the yarn you picked out is beautiful! Can’t wait to see what you make out of it!

  14. Lolly says:

    oooh my! lovely purchases, C!

  15. Karen says:

    Ah, such beautiful yarns! If I had to pick a favorite it would be the Cabin Fever colorway. Gorgeous! Glad you had fun!

  16. tut-tut says:

    Luscious yarn! Sounds great. You’ll have to tell all about Stitches!

  17. Emily says:

    Drool! Nice swag.