Mischievous Gnome Messenger Bag

I was inspired to sew again after seeing Monique’s gorgeous Mischievous Gnome Messenger Bag. If you click the link, you’ll see that I totally copied her.

mischievousgnome2.jpg

mischievousgnome3.jpg
I love this little patch on the front

mischievousgnome4.jpg
Inner side of strap (the outside is wool)

mischievousgnome5.jpg
A ribbon wrapped around this button closes the bag

mischievousgnome6.jpg
Interior zippered pocket

Pattern: Mischievous Gnome Messenger Bag by Montessori By Hand
Mods: I used a slightly heavier interfacing because I couldn’t find the one listed in the pattern. I also changed up the fabric combo a bit and used four fabrics instead of three.
Thoughts: The pattern instructions are absolutely stellar. I was a little nervous about making the interior zippered pocket — I’ve never done one before — but I had no problems understanding the process. I’m the type of person who likes very detailed instructions and I was completely satisfied with these! I also liked the full-size pattern pieces and the photos accompanying the directions. If Meg came out with more bag patterns, I would definitely buy them!

15 Comments on “Mischievous Gnome Messenger Bag”

  1. Peacock Chic says:

    Oh great job on the bag! your zipper stitching looks wonderful!! I always hate the gamble with topstitching because it is always in the place that you just don’t want to rip out so most times you end up settling.

    I love Meg’s patterns too. Don’t forget to post it over on her Flickr site, I am sure she would be happy as am I :O)

  2. gleek says:

    very very cute! i’m sure you’ll put it to great use 🙂

  3. stacey says:

    that is amazing! what a great sized bag! i had no idea why there was “gnome” in the title until I looked at the original pattern!

  4. Allegra says:

    I love it! Great job! Yet another reason why I should learn to sew…..

  5. Julia says:

    Ok, now I’m probably going to totally copy you. This so cute!! Cutest messenger bag I’ve seen, and i love the colors you chose…and the cute little square patch. :o)

  6. AJ says:

    Love the bag! Great fabrics. Now I think I need to make me one! 🙂

  7. Beth says:

    What a great bag! You did such a nice job on it. I just bought the Montessori By Hand’s Emmeline apron pattern. I’m glad to know you liked the bag pattern so well.

  8. Karen says:

    Oh, that is an awesome bag! You did an incredible job on it. I can already tell that I *need* one too. 🙂

  9. Leslie says:

    The bag is wonderful! I’m glad to see you’re sewing again . . you sew perfectly. I really, really like this bag.

  10. keri says:

    What a pretty bag! I’m so happy to see you make it, I just ordered that pattern plus the apron last week and I can’t wait to make it.

  11. Yaaay! It looks great. Lovely, straight stitching. You did a terrific job!

  12. Oiyi says:

    It’s gorgeous! The color combo and fabric textures works so well.

  13. joyce says:

    I like it! Great job! I want to make one for myself too!
    (just have to find the time)…