(Chocolate) Cream Cheese Cookies

creamcheesecookies.jpg

My mother-in-law has a tradition of gifting assorted homemade cookies at Christmas. By far, our favorite cookie is this fudge-y tasting one. I finally remembered to ask her for the recipe, which came from the Betty Crocker cookbook she received as a wedding present in the mid 1970s. I was rather surprised to discover the “secret” ingredient: devil’s food cake mix.

I found the gist of the recipe online here. The original recipe calls for either yellow cake mix or devil’s food cake mix, although obviously your results would be different if you use the former. I used reduced fat cream cheese. Also, if you make petite cookies the yield is more like six or seven dozen instead of three…which is a lot of cookies, so we gave most of them away!

13 Comments on “(Chocolate) Cream Cheese Cookies”

  1. AJ says:

    Sounds heavenly. I’m going to have to try both versions!

  2. Tonia says:

    Oh they look so good. Didn’t happen to put some in the mail coming this direction? 😉 Time to get out the Betty Crocker Cook Book and see if it is in there. Yummmmm

  3. gleek says:

    geez those look good!

  4. Mintyfresh says:

    I’m a total sucker for cookies that crack like that. Mmmm.

  5. ruth says:

    ayyy girl, you are totally killing me with your mouth-watering pictures!! if you have extra cookies, want to bring them tonight at knitting?? i will gladly help you “get rid” of any excess for you =)

  6. Beth says:

    Mmm…chocolatey, yummy, and easy – that’s a perfect recipe!

  7. Julia says:

    Yum! I love box mix recipes!

  8. Ingrid says:

    These sound like my kind of cookies. Let’s see if they work in Hong Kong!

  9. Oksana says:

    These look really interesting, I’ll have to whip them up sometime. Thanks!

  10. Marin says:

    Thanks for sharing! They were so yummy!

  11. AJ says:

    I had to tell you that I made them last night and they were uber delicious! 😛

  12. Oiyi says:

    Looks very yummy. And they look very dainty.

  13. Heather says:

    I think it’s funny that although I didn’t go the cream cheese route, I made similar ones with my girls the other day and they turned out surprisingly well. Who knew something from a box could be that good, and very easy too. I’ll have to try this recipe next, I’m just happy when I don’t have to meausre things out – the grabby hands of my little girls can be very distracting at times and I’ve on more then one occasion gotten pretty messed up.