Huckleberry Ascot

Have you ever finished a knitting project and then realized that the item does not suit your style whatsoever? That’s how I feel about my Huckleberry Ascot.

Huckleberry Ascot

There isn’t anything wrong with the pattern itself. The scarf was a quick, simple project that I finished in just over a week. But I am not pleased with the way it looks because it reminds me of tucking a dinner napkin into my shirt. It appears quite flattering on the model in the pattern photo, but not so much on me. Also, it doesn’t cover enough of my neck to keep it warm. So, this is definitely not a keeper and will be going to a new home.

There were still some positive aspects of the project. I learned how to make bobbles, and they were much easier than I expected. While the yarn sheds a bit, it is incredibly soft and drapey and I would use it again.

Huckleberry Ascot

Huckleberry Ascot

Pattern: Huckleberry Ascot from Interweave Knits Gifts, Winter 2007
Yarn: Blue Sky Alpacas Melange, Color #812 Blue Cheese, 2 skeins
Needles: US #7

19 Comments on “Huckleberry Ascot”

  1. adrienne says:

    It looks wonderful. I was supposed to make this and never did lol.

  2. lekkercraft says:

    Well, it looks lovely, and it looks really great on you in the photo–but I know how it is when you feel something isn’t right for you. Someone is going to get a great gift!

  3. ruth says:

    that’s exactly how i felt about my peppermint twist sweater. it looks pretty, but not quite exactly on me. your huckleberry ascot is really pretty – very simple and elegant and clean, with a little touch of whimsy with the bobbles. but if it’s not your particular style, that’s ok. it still looks really pretty, and i agree with the others – it would make for a good gift for someone who likes that style! =)

  4. keri says:

    *sigh* yes too often! =) I’m trying to be more mindful of the projects I chose, just because it looks great on a model doesn’t mean that it’s going to look great on me or fit my lifestyle! 😉

  5. Beth says:

    I agree with everyone else. It’s a beautiful scarf and you did a great job on it. But if you won’t wear it, there’s no reason to keep it. I do love the little bobbles on it! They remind me of the edge of some of my grandma’s glassware – very elegant.

  6. Julia says:

    Hehe! It is good to be honest with yourself on these things. That yarn is really nice though! pretty color and texture.

  7. gleek says:

    bummer. i hate when that happens! gift it to someone!

  8. Wendy says:

    Very pretty – I like the bobbles. I’m sure whoever you give it to will love it 🙂

  9. Karen says:

    That has happened to me quite a few times. Luckily for you it was not a sweater! Someone will love it though. It’s a pretty scarf.

  10. Oiyi says:

    Your ascot looks great! I had bought enough yarn to make 3 different colored ones, but haven’t started. Now, after reading what you wrote, I am not so sure it would be good gifts.

  11. Leslie says:

    It’s very cute . . but I can see it not being “you.” Alpaca does tend to shed somewhat, or so I’ve found. I really like the color of the yarn. I always try to do projects where I’m learning something . . with the prospect of doing something more involved using the technique later on.

  12. Heather says:

    It’s a beautiful color and suits you well but it is pretty “ascotty.” Sometimes these are the best knits, you can enjoy the process and then just give the finished product as a gift.

  13. caroline says:

    Awww. It looks pretty, but I know how that goes. That pattern seems to be pretty popular. I have several friends at work who have recently knit similar ascots.

  14. Jennifer says:

    It is beautiful and I bet it’s soft around your neck.

  15. lolly says:

    Hmm… too bad! I think it looks quite nice from the photos. I liked this pattern, and since I am a big fan of any neck piece, I might still give it a try. It will make a lovely gift, for sure 😉

  16. priscilla says:

    Too bad you don’t care for it – I like it!

  17. Leslie says:

    It is cute but I can see what you mean…a little more length might have changed the look. I do like the way the ends fan out and the bobbles are fun, too.

  18. Tonia says:

    It is so lovely. Too bad it just wasn’t what you were hoping for. I am sure that you will find someone that it will work on.

  19. joyce says:

    It looks nice!…and I love the color…maybe if you wear it a different way you might like it =)