Chicken and Mushroom Marsala

Chicken and Mushroom Marsala

Recipe from Gourmet, June 1995 found via Smitten Kitchen.

Mods and Thoughts
:: I used 3/4 of a large white onion and chopped it instead of slicing it.
:: I meant to chop some garlic to throw in with the onions, but I forgot so I added 1 Tbsp bottled minced garlic instead. We love garlic!
:: The recipe doesn’t indicate dry or sweet marsala wine; I used dry.
:: The mushroom sauce is really delicious. If you click on the Gourmet link above and read the recipe reviews, you’ll find that a lot of people doubled the mushroom sauce. I would definitely do that next time because the mushrooms are what make this dish taste good.
:: Be careful not to overcook the chicken like I did! Because dried out tough chicken is not a good thing. Unfortunately I am the queen of overcooking meat so next time Hubby gets to watch the chicken.
:: I am still trying to figure out what do with the mushroom sauce in the last step. The recipe calls for reducing it to 1/2 cup, but that seems like very little liquid and I would like some sauce on the chicken. Instead of reducing, we threw in about 4 teaspoons of cornstarch to thicken it but that was a bit much. Next time, we may experiment with either adding less chicken broth at the end or adding just a 1 or 2 teaspoons of cornstarch.

All in all, a great dish!

7 Comments on “Chicken and Mushroom Marsala”

  1. priscilla says:

    That looks like it would make a delicious dinner! Taste Of Home has a very similar recipe like this…and we love it. I tend to overcook meat too when I BBQ.:) Are those mashed potatoes and peas in the backround?

  2. stacey says:

    Marsala is one of my favorites – i’ll have to give this one a try! I can’t cook chicken to save my life. Luckily, I like it a little overcooked (weird, I know)!

  3. I LOVE Chicken Marsala! I will definitely have to try this recipe. Yours looks great!

  4. Beth says:

    Chicken Marsala is one of my favorite dishes! I haven’t had very good luck when I order it in restaurants, so I guess I’ll have to make my own again. I think the mushroom sauce is the best part.

  5. Oiyi says:

    There is only one restaurant that I order the Chicken Marsala. The others I find make it too sweet.

  6. Agnes says:

    I always find cornstarch a bit hard to control in making sauce … it thickens too quickly. So, I prefer using plain flour. It takes a little longer but that is okay for me. Oh and I add flour after the mushroom liquid dry out, before adding the wine and broth. 🙂

  7. Leslie says:

    Oh wow, my tummy is grumbling!!!!!