Penne Pasta with Meat Sauce

Penne Pasta with Meat Sauce

Recipe from here. Easy and yummy! We doubled the recipe and made a fair number of mods, but they were personal preferences (e.g., using leaner ground beef, adding more garlic and basil, etc.).

So what happens when we finish cooking is that Hubby plates the food and I run upstairs to get the camera. He has made a few style suggestions in the past that I really liked, so I dubbed him the food stylist. This time he thought it would be fun to include a drink in the background and see if readers can guess the drink correctly. Anyone??

15 Comments on “Penne Pasta with Meat Sauce”

  1. mari says:

    you are such the inspiration for tasty dishes! this one will definitely have to be tried out. as for the drink… i am so bad at this. i have to ask my husband – he’ll know for sure!

  2. yaiAnn says:

    Looks like a a variety of Mike’s Hard Lemonade.. I’m going to guess cranberry.

  3. Andrea says:

    Ah, I saw that recipe on Elise’s site and bookmarked it for future use–looks like it turned out beautifully for you! And that’s a Mike’s Hard (Cran)Berry Lemonade hiding out in the back there, no?

  4. ruth says:

    yea, my guess was also a variety of the mike’s hard lemonade. i love that stuff. 🙂

  5. winnie says:

    well, i am going to deviate from the norm and guess Arrogant Bastard Ale.

    Now I want pasta for dinner..yum!

  6. priscilla says:

    It’s not even time for dinner yet and all of a sudden I am very hungary! This looks delicious…I will have to try it. Is that just sour dough bread you ate it with? I’m guessing that lemonade is the drink??:)

  7. Karen says:

    Yep, that’s a Mike’s Hard Lemonade alright. I think it’s cranberry too. I love all the flavors!

  8. jen says:

    dammit i see others beat me to it, it’s a canberry mikes and that stuff is good!

  9. Julia says:

    great food picture! I thought it was a Mike’s too, but then I thought I was wrong because I’ve never seen that color of label. I guess I’m right though!

  10. Beth says:

    Your dinner looks terrific! I think it’s great that you and your husband are both involved with the food photography. A lot of times, I just think about the blogger and not how her spouse or family interacts with readers, too.

  11. Oiyi says:

    Your hubby definitely has a eye for photo composition. The bottle was the first thing that caught my eye in the background.

  12. keri says:

    I love that he is so cognizant of the presentation and plating, another iron chef in the making?? =)

  13. Looks yummy! Kudos to your husband for excellent plating skills. I was already thinking about making lasagna this weekend; now I’m really craving some Italian!

  14. Francesca says:

    Even though I don’t know the recipe you used for chicken marsala, I am pretty sure that you did the right thing in using dry marsala. Sweet marsala, at least in Italy, is used for desserts.
    (I tried to leave this comment on the previous entry, but couldn’t.)

  15. joyce says:

    mmmm! looks good!