Feeling Content

I experience ups and downs with my crafting. There are times when I feel completely blah about my projects and my knitting only surfaces when I have absolutely nothing else to do.

John B. Socks

Then there are the happier periods, like right now, when I am excited about my knitting and moving through projects at a good pace. At the same time, I am also eagerly trying new cooking and baking recipes. Successfully striking that delicate balance between my hobbies feels really good. I doubt I’ll be able to sustain that balance indefinitely, but I am trying my best to enjoy it while it lasts.

Logwood Socks In Progress

One big change I made recently was deciding to be content with my yarn stash. I have quite a bit of yarn, yet I continue to add to it regularly. I’ll come across a neat pattern and buy the yarn for it, but I know it won’t be knitted up for quite awhile because I don’t knit as fast as I buy yarn. When I got overwhelmed with my stash in the past, I destashed, but the thing is, I really like everything in my current stash and I don’t want to part with any of it. So at the end of March, I committed to a six-month yarn diet. I’ve gone on one or two shorter diets before, and I remember them as times of deprivation. Like, when is the diet over so I can buy yarn again? But this time feels different to me — instead of viewing it as not getting to do something I like, I see it as a great opportunity to finally knit the awesome yarns I have. The end result is the same, but the approach is making all the difference. I set it for six months, but I am curious about how long I can actually go and how much of my stash I will use.

To kick off this commitment, I am running a small contest. All you have to do is guess the number of unused balls of yarn in my stash. The winner is the person who guesses the right number (or closest to it); if multiple people guess correctly I will use a random number generator to select the winner. And no, my stash is not listed on Ravelry. The prize? A brand new copy of Hats, Mittens, and Scarves by Andrea Tung. My friend Joyce kindly gifted me with a copy months ago, and the second copy I received on the Stitch ‘n Ride train needs a new home. Contest ends when the comments close on Saturday morning.

hatsmittensscarves.jpg

26 Comments on “Feeling Content”

  1. Jodi says:

    Have fun knitting with all your stash yarns! How great to re-explore all those projects and yarns that inspired you.

    My guess — 138.

  2. Oiyi says:

    I have been feeling overwhelmed with my stash and just tired of all the mess. I have been trying to work from the stash and not buy any new yarn either, but it’s hard when I have to gift knit.

    My guess is 89.

  3. little.one says:

    My guess is 188. Good luck on your yarn diet. I’ve just about given up on trying to resist temptation. Maybe it’s time that I try again.

  4. Renna says:

    How weird. I was going to say the exact same number as Oiyi.

    I’ll guess 123. πŸ™‚

  5. winnie says:

    There are times when I have this nagging feeling that I just have too much yarn and I need to stashbust. But then there are just other times when I come across a good bargain *cough.felted.tweed.cough* when resistance is simply futile. But I’ve started to find things that I want to knit from stash that has been just sitting there for the last two years and when that kind of inspiration hits, I tell myself : “See… you had the foresight to have these yarn in your stash and you just found the perfect project for it”.

    123.

  6. Taryn says:

    36! Really, now that I see everyone else is guessing in the 100’s, I’m pretty sure I’m not even close. I’m still sticking with the number that popped into my head instantly. Thirty six. 36.

  7. Andrea says:

    I know what you mean about the waxing and waning of knitting/hobby interest; I think I’m starting to drop into a waning period, myself. In any case, I’ll wager a guess of 110 skeins.

  8. Cynthia says:

    Oh…. I am guessing 76. Lovely socks!

  9. Ingrid says:

    My guess is 78. No reason — just a guess.

  10. i’ll guess 160 (it’s my goal weight).

  11. Nicole says:

    I’ll guess 73. Those socks are beautiful!

  12. AJ says:

    I think that’s a great idea. I need to commit to some sort of yarn diet myself. The other day I went looking for a pair of needles, (somehow all my US 2 double points have vanished), and I found yarn that I forgotten I bought within the past few months. I’m slowly making progress on my WIP’s and UFO’s. Maybe if I go on a yarn diet, too, I’ll finish quicker!? πŸ™‚ Of course, AFTER the 50% off sale at the LYS, (I have a project in mind which is replacing a different yarn).

    My guess would be 51.

  13. kristen says:

    125. i’m trying to think what “quite a few” skeins would equal in my fabric stash… πŸ™‚

  14. Marin says:

    Hmmm…my guess is 96 (with the help of hubby πŸ™‚

  15. Leslie says:

    I always love your socks.

    213

  16. gleek says:

    it’s hard not to add to the stash regularly. yarn calls to me, i swear. it’s like the cry of the harpies πŸ™‚

  17. Melena says:

    My guess is 432 skeins of unused yarn.

  18. Beth says:

    I’m guessing 23. Your socks look really nice!

  19. erin says:

    Oooohh, the socks are so pretty! Good luck with your yarn diet, I’m sure you can do it. I’m guessing 88?

  20. Kati says:

    I’m guessing 254

  21. priscilla says:

    I love those burnish red color socks…funny, my sister knits but I haven’t asked her to knit my some socks yet – I guess I should! My guess is 64.

  22. Jody says:

    Wow – that is a very hard question! I have no idea how many balls of yarn I have… I’m not sure I want to know!!

    I’ll guess 129.

    -Jody

  23. keri says:

    142? I don’t know, I just like that number.

    Balance is good – I’m struggling with that right now, I feel a little out of balance with everything but I hope to get back in balance soon.

  24. Karen says:

    I feel the same way about my crafting. Quite often actually. Right now sewing has bumped my knitting and spinning into the background.

    It would have been easier to guess if I could have peeked over on Ravelry. πŸ™‚ But I’m going to guess 200.

  25. Ingrid says:

    I’ll say 84. I have a lot more than that!