Mexican Wedding Cookies

Mexican Wedding Cookies

Recipe from the Martha Stewart Baking Handbook. This was my first time eating Mexican Wedding Cookies so I have no idea what they are “supposed” to taste like, but I thought these were pretty darn good. I love the flavors of the pecans and almond extract as well as the light and airy texture. This recipe has made my Favorite Cookie List as I can’t seem to eat just one! Photo taken by Hubby.

9 Comments on “Mexican Wedding Cookies”

  1. priscilla says:

    I wouldn’t be able to eat only one of those too! They look deelicious! They remind me of pecan balls. Now I am really “hungary”!!:)

  2. mari says:

    i love mexican wedding cookies so much! they are some of my favorite cookies ever. it sounds like you made them just right by your description.

    btw, maybe I’ve asked you this before, but what camera do you use? I love love your photos!

  3. ruth says:

    i tried my hand with mexican wedding cookies.. maybe i’ll have to try your recipe. the recipe i had was OK, but it was terribly messy. but i love eating them in general, so i’ll have to try again =)

  4. Beth says:

    Those are one of my favorites. My mom used to make them at Christmas and now I enjoy making them, too. I wonder why I don’t make them throughout the year?

  5. Leslie says:

    These are my all-time favorite cookies and I can remember the first time my Grammy made them. I was just a little girl and she had them in a coffee can, for Christmas. They were the most wonderful things I had ever eaten (I think I was about 6 or 7 years old and my palate was just SO experienced ;P). To this day, I can not make them like how my Grammy made them. Even when she had Parkinson’s Disease so badly she could hardly think or speak straight, I came to her to tell her I made them and they came out more flat than round. She looked at me completely lucidly and said, “too much moisture, reduce the milk.” Unbelievable. I’ve heard them called two things: Mexican Wedding Cakes and Russian Tea Cookies. I really don’t see a difference in the recipes. I’m so glad you made them and really loved them!! Now I’ll have to do a batch!!

  6. Jennifer says:

    I have a weakness for Mexican wedding cakes. Delicious!

  7. erin says:

    I’ve been curious about these cookies too, wondering how they taste like. Now that you’ve described it, I might try it one of these days. It sounds good and has my fav pecans and I like light cookies 🙂

  8. Marin says:

    I have wanted to make these since Christmas but haven’t yet. I think I even have the dough in the freezer! I have that cookbook though so I’ll check that recipe out. They look so yummy 🙂

  9. Oiyi says:

    I love those kind of cookies. I don’t think I have made anything from this book yet. Have you picked up her Cookie Book yet?