Pork and Veggie Stir-Fry

Pork and Veggie Stir Fry

Recipe found here on Madeline’s Rachael Ray blog. We haven’t quite decided yet whether this one is a keeper or not. The veggies were really yummy, but the pork was on the bland side. Of course, it didn’t help that we totally overcooked it and thus it was tough. Hubby remedied the blandness by dousing the pork in Siracha sauce.

Hubby thought the dish would improve if we used flank steak instead of pork. I think it’s a good idea. However, I am not sure we will ever experiment with that. There was a fair amount of chopping (at least to us) and we haven’t decided yet whether the effort involved in this recipe is worth the end result. It’s good, but it didn’t wow us. If you try it, be careful not to overcook the pork!

8 Comments on “Pork and Veggie Stir-Fry”

  1. Mintyfresh says:

    It sure looks pretty! I can only imagine that if Rachael Ray’s schtick wasn’t to rush through things, and the meat was left to marinate for a good long time, it would give it more flavor. That said, flank steak would be super yummy!

  2. Julia says:

    Mmm…that looks yummy and healthy! Nice picture :o)

  3. priscilla says:

    Wow, that looks delicious! I am hungary right now and I think I can taste it!

  4. mom2fur says:

    Try using pork tenderloin. It cooks up pretty fast and is very tender (well, of course). It doesn’t dry out as easily as some piggie cuts.
    Pork t-loin can be pricey, but I stock up when it is on sale. Just remember that each package has 2 loins in it. I rewrap and freeze each loin, but for just two of you I’d even consider cutting one in half–so you’d get four meals out of a package.
    Other than the meat being bland, it sure looks pretty!

  5. Oiyi says:

    I love Siracha sauce! It makes everything taste better.

  6. I agree with Minty–flank steak would be really yummy. But I can see what you mean about all the chopping. The cucumbers (or are they zucchini?) look like a nice touch, though!

  7. joyce says:

    looks good…i would try with flank steak since that’s my favorite…i always wondered about siracha sauce…
    (love the cowl knit)…

  8. Beth says:

    It looks fantastic! Seriously, it looks like a picture out of a cookbook.

    Your cowl is so pretty and it looks great on you!