Gloria Cowl

Gloria Cowl #1

Gloria Cowl #1

Gloria Cowl #1

Pattern: Gloria Cowl
Yarn: Hand Maiden Casbah Sock in Peridot (held double)
Needles: US #9 / 16″
Modifications: 81 stitches around instead of 99. 5 rounds of seed stitch instead of 3.

I don’t think cowls get much easier than this! A few rounds of seed stitch at the beginning and end with nothing but stockinette in the middle. Perfect for social knitting. Simple yet elegant, and a great way to use luxurious sock yarn. Thanks for the pattern, Orinda! This was my first experience with Hand Maiden Casbah Sock, and it knits up very well. I had to fight with the hank for awhile because of tangles, but the end result was well worth the effort.

I already have another Gloria Cowl on the needles, but some other patterns I’m looking at are Sherbrooke, Dolores Park Cowl, and Ilean (all Rav links). If you have other cowl pattern suggestions, please send them my way!

16 Comments on “Gloria Cowl”

  1. Renna says:

    It’s beautiful. ‘Simple but elegant’ perfectly describes it!

  2. Knitterella says:

    It’s gorgeous! (I need to cast on for that one)

  3. Karen says:

    Pretty! You are a cowl making machine! πŸ™‚ I am considering becoming an Ampersand sock making machine. πŸ™‚

  4. Leslie says:

    This is beautiful! I love the colorway you chose. I need to make one of these!

  5. priscilla says:

    that is so pretty! the colors are relaxing…what a pretty picture of you!

  6. lolly says:

    I love the simplicity of cowls – this one looks beautiful in that yarn, Caitlyn! I will be thrilled to see your Sherbrooke!

  7. ann says:

    That’s gorgeous! That yarn is a beautiful colorway.

  8. Oiyi says:

    Nice! I love seeing all these cowls in different colorways.

  9. Emily says:

    It looks great!

  10. Wow, you are really churning out the cowls! The color is beautiful. You’ll have plenty to keep your neck warm come wintertime!

  11. Jennifer says:

    You are on a cowl making roll! Very pretty.

  12. Leslie says:

    That’s just so pretty! Very “you” colorway. πŸ™‚

  13. Julia says:

    Ooohhh…I loove the color in this one, so silky soft and muted. Lovely! I never get bored of the cowls. :o)

  14. Mintyfresh says:

    that yarn is to die for.

  15. Beth says:

    The stockinette shows off the yarn so well. I think I’m convinced to try one now. πŸ™‚

  16. joyce says:

    All your cowls so far are lovely Caitlyn!
    You’ll be ready for winter in no time. Can you believe it will be July next week!