Creamy Lemon Squares

Creamy Lemon Squares

Recipe from the June 2008 issue of Everyday Food. Sadly, I wasn’t too impressed with this one as Hubby and I thought that the bars were much too sweet. I actually cut them smaller than recommended (20 bars instead of 16 from an 8×8 baking dish) and I still couldn’t finish one small bar in the same sitting. These aren’t even much less work than my usual lemon bars, so I am definitely going back to those yummy ones!

8 Comments on “Creamy Lemon Squares”

  1. priscilla says:

    that’s too bad you didn’t like them because they look gorgeous! what a great pic!

  2. gleek says:

    yes, at least they look pretty! 🙂 but if you’re looking for some good lemon squares try the ones at smittenkitchen.com. they are soooooooo good.

  3. Jill says:

    You have perfect timing with this post – I was just thinking about making lemon squares for a party on Sat. night! The photos looks great even if the squares weren’t awesome.

  4. cursingmama says:

    Somewhere in my “Oh my goodness I forgot I’m supposed to bring something” repertoire I have a recipe for the easiest (& tasty) lemon bars. The ingredients are a can of lemon pie filling and a box of 1 step angel food cake. You mix the two together – pour them in a jelly roll pan & bake. (I think 325 and I think the pan needs to be greased) When they’re done I sprinkle with powdered sugar and then get a fork because I have a lot of eating to do.

  5. Jennifer says:

    Well, even though you were disappointed, they look delicious!

  6. mari says:

    oh caitlyn, you are so my baking/cooking guru! i can’t wait to make YOUR lemon bars and have my husband ooh and aah with joy. hmmm… do I have enough lemons to make these tomorrow????

  7. ruth says:

    sorry these lemon bars didn’t work out as well. yea, the other ones are definitely my staple lemon bar recipe. i have yet to find another that beats it! 🙂 as for these, oh well. but i do have to say, your pictures are looking really good. did you take it with the new canon? 🙂

  8. lekkercraft says:

    yum! thanks for the link to your favorite lemon bar recipe (and the review on the one you tried – I think i might have saved that sometime ago). I’m going to make them for my b-day gathering next week in lieu of a cake!