Rusted Root

I started my Rusted Root sweater five months ago, but it never made an appearance here previously because I hemmed and hawed so much about ripping it. Since I bought the yarn specifically for this project and couldn’t think of anything else to do with it, I forced myself to keep going. I worked on it only in little bits until last month, when I finally stepped up the pace because I wanted to finish it by my self-imposed deadline — our Hawaii trip at the end of August. I thought it would be neat to have a new top to wear on vacation. Plus my friend Cheri planted the idea of doing the photo shoot for it on a beach.

Well, my Rusted Root came off the blocking board two days before we left and I did bring it all the way to Oahu, but sadly no beach photo shoot occurred because I didn’t bring an appropriate layering shirt to wear underneath! But perhaps this was a good thing because it was way too hot to be walking around outdoors in a sweater.

Rusted Root

Rusted Root

Rusted Root

Pattern: Rusted Root, size small
Yarn: Mirasol Cotanani, colorway 409, 7 skeins
Needles: US #4/ in 16″, 24″, and 40″ (to knit sleeves via Magic Loop); US #6 in 16″ and 24″
Modifications: I followed many of the changes made by parikha (Ravelry link).
-Started the neckline with a tubular cast-on using US #4/16” needles. I knit 3 rounds of k1p1 ribbing,then switched to US #6/16” needles. Then I started the pattern with the beginning round (the one with dividing sections by placing markers).
-On Round 12, I switched to US #6/24” needles.
-I knit one extra decrease round in the shaping section.
-At the hem and the sleeves , I knit k1p1 ribbing and used the k1p1 bind off.
Thoughts: This is a clear, well-written pattern with a simple lace panel that kept the knitting from being too dull. I would highly recommend using the tubular cast-on at the neckline if you dislike picking up stitches. If I could go back and make changes, I would a couple of extra decreases at the waist and lengthen the sleeves a bit. This was my first time knitting with Mirasol Cotanani and I loved it. Normally I am not a fan of knitting with cotton/cotton blends, but the Cotanani knits up really well and feels wonderful against my skin. All in all, I was happily surprised to discover that I love this sweater!

19 Comments on “Rusted Root”

  1. Cyndi says:

    That sweater is gorgeous! I love the color, the lace panel, and the slightly puffed sleeves. Very cute!

  2. Karen says:

    Lovely sweater Caitlyn! The color looks really nice with your coloring and your hair. It’s a perfect time of year to wear it now too.

    Hope you had a great vacation in Hawaii. I love it there! It’s been a long time since we were there…I would so love to go back.

  3. Jill says:

    Wow, this outout lovely. Love the lace panel and the cute puffy capped sleeves!

  4. Leslie says:

    That is SO pretty!!!! I just love it so much . . the sleeves are too cute and my taste is details . . so that eyelet-like leaf stitch running off center (I like asymmetry too!) is what sets this off. I have never seen this pattern. Very pretty and feminine. Is this a typical color for you too? What a perfect job. Your stitches are so good. πŸ™‚ I’m sure you look very pretty in this!

  5. Jenipurr says:

    It turned out lovely, and it looks terrific on you!

  6. gleek says:

    it’s beautiful! i’m so glad that you ended up liking it πŸ™‚

  7. Julia says:

    Beautiful!! How cute, and I really love that color. What a great Fall or Spring sweater!! (Or Winter, considering the weather we have here in Sac πŸ™‚

  8. orinda5 says:

    Really lovely! And it looks fabulous on you.

    Hope you had a wonderful vacation!

  9. ruth says:

    you finally finished it!!!! so proud of you!! and of course, as expected, it looks TERRIFIC on you. =)

  10. priscilla says:

    that looks great caitlyn! what a pretty color too.

  11. erin says:

    It looks so pretty, especially the sweet cap sleeve and it fits so well too. It’s nice isn’t it to find that you love lt after all?

  12. Nell says:

    It’s a great color. And it fits you perfectly. Well done!

  13. Rebekah says:

    This sweater looks great on you! You did such a nice job knitting this and hopefully you’ll have a few more weeks to get some summer/early fall wearings in.

    I’ve had this on my queue for quite a while. I’ll have to make mine next spring πŸ™‚

  14. joyce says:

    wow..that is a beautiful sweater!…and the detail of it..gorgeous.

  15. Jennifer says:

    That came out so cute!

  16. kimberley says:

    That looks stunning. The colour looks gorgeous, and the cap sleeves are too cute.

  17. Shir says:

    A beautiful job! It will be a good b-day gift to yourself! I like the color.

  18. Beth says:

    It’s great and I love that color! Did you have a nice trip?

  19. It looks great! A beautiful color. Hope you had a good time in Hawaii!