Christmas Gift Knitting

These past few months, I’ve been working on Christmas presents for my mother and sister. Since both of them read this blog on occasion, I haven’t wanted to write about them. But I figured I would try out the “more” feature…so, please feel free to click the “more” link as long as you are not my mother or my sister!

The theme is purple. First up are two pairs of socks for my sister.

Logwood Socks
Yarn: Madelinetosh Sock, Logwood, 1 skein
Pattern: My generic 56 stitch top-down sock with slip stitch heel
Needles: US #2 / 32 inch for ribbing; US #1 / 32 inch for all other parts
Thoughts: This was my first time knitting with MadTosh sock yarn, and I really liked it! The colors were very saturated and the yarn is plush.

Purple Koigu Socks for my sister

Purple Koigu Socks for my sister
Yarn: Koigu Painter’s Palette Premium Merino (KPPPM), P303L, 2 skeins
Pattern: My generic 60 stitch top-down sock with slip stitch heel
Needles: US #2 / 32 inch for ribbing; US #1 / 32 inch for all other parts
Thoughts: I normally knit 56-stitch socks, but I bumped these up to 60 to see if they fit my sister any better. I barely had enough yarn for each sock.

For my mother, I knit a simple lace scarf.

Falling Water Scarf

Falling Water Scarf

Falling Water Scarf
Yarn: Malabrigo Silky Merino, 425 Madre Perla, 1.5 skeins
Pattern: Falling Water Scarf (Ravelry link)
Needles: US #8
Notes: Knit 20 pattern repeats. Size prior to blocking: 4″ x 47″. Size after blocking: 5.5″ x 64″
Thoughts: This was my first time knitting with Malabrigo Silky Merino, which is super soft. I blazed through the first half of the scarf because I liked handling the yarn!

13 Comments on “Christmas Gift Knitting”

  1. winnie says:

    oooh… i am totally loving the purple in the FOs. Particularly, that falling water scarf. The sheen of the yarn is so scrumptious!

  2. Ingrid says:

    Wow! lovely presents and lovely photos. What a lucky family!

  3. Joanna says:

    Gorgeous! Everything! I like how you call it a “simple” lace scarf. Simple to you , but not to me!

    btw, I hope they don’t read you through bloglines, because I saw your whole post. 🙂

  4. Emily says:

    Those are some great gifts! They’ll love ’em.

  5. Kitten says:

    I normally detest purple, but I adore the socks in this post. I think it might be your pretty photos and even knitting. They’re messing with my mind. 🙂

  6. Oiyi says:

    I love the color purple. Those are gorgeous gifts. Love love love the scarf!

  7. Karen says:

    Beautiful presents! The socks are just lovely and the scarf is so pretty! I have a skein of Madelinetosh Sock waiting in the wings too. It might even be in the same colorway!

  8. keri says:

    Gorgeous gorgeous! I just love the colors of the yarn you chose and then scarf has such a pretty drape to it – very watery looking which I just love. Lucky present recipients! =)

  9. Jodi says:

    Beautiful projects, and gorgeous purples! Your sister is darn lucky — 2 pairs of handknit socks for Christmas?

    I like the look of the Falling Water Scarf knit up in a heavier yarn. I made one with fingering weight, and I loved knitting it, but this seems more useful.

  10. Lisa says:

    beautiful projects, especially the scarf!

  11. mari says:

    the scarf is just amazing! the socks are great, of course, but I am just blown away with the scarf! Amazing gifts!

  12. gleek says:

    such beautiful socks! and i love that scarf a lot.. so want to make one!

  13. Nicole says:

    I love all three projects. The colours are so pretty. And wow, I can almost feel the silkiness of that Malabrigo from here.