Monkey Cowl

Monkey Cowl

I was inspired to knit the Monkey Cowl after seeing Maritza’s gorgeous versions here and here. Sadly, I didn’t particularly enjoy the process of knitting this one — it seemed to take forever and it wasn’t exactly mindless knitting for me. On the upside, though, I love the end product! Hand Maiden Casbah is super soft, so the cowl feels wonderful against my neck. I also like the texture of the pattern. I only wish I could have captured the color accurately, but I just couldn’t get it. The color is deeper in person.

Yarn: Hand Maiden Casbah Sock yarn, Topaz, less than 1 skein
Pattern: Based on the Monkey sock pattern with modifications by Maritza
Needles: US #4/16 inch

Monkey Cowl

Monkey Cowl

12 Comments on “Monkey Cowl”

  1. Rebekah says:

    This is absolutely gorgeous! The yarn that you used really makes this pattern sing!

  2. jane says:

    What a beautiful vibrant blue. That cowl looks so soft and squishy, I hadn’t seen the pattern in cowl form before & it looks great! Getting all set for the winter is *so* much fun, especially for knitters 🙂

  3. ruth says:

    wow, that is gorgeous! I hope you’re keeping this for yourself!! 🙂

  4. Oiyi says:

    It does look so soft and the pattern is very pretty.

  5. Karen says:

    Oh, very pretty! Sorry you didn’t enjoy knitting it, but it seems as if it was worth it by looking at the finished project! Enjoy it!

  6. Lisa says:

    Beautiful cowl – what a great color.

  7. Ingrid says:

    Its a beautiful cowl – and it looks wonderful on you!

  8. Nell says:

    That yarn is luminous. Beautiful!

  9. lynette says:

    i love the color and the pattern.

  10. gleek says:

    ooooh, it’s lovely! i totally dig the combination of yarn and pattern here 🙂

  11. Jill says:

    It was worth your efforts! It’s lovely!

  12. Peacock Chic says:

    Love it!!! I really like the monkey pattern but could not justify socks so cowl it will be. Thanks for the inspiration!