My Fourth Blogiversary

On each blogiversary, it is customary for me to reflect on the past year and consider what I hope to accomplish in the coming year. In 2008, I set a number of specific goals for knitting, spinning, and cooking/baking. I have re-written them in italics below, along with a mini-review of how I did.

Knitting:
1. Finish Chevron Scarf (in progress since October 2007)
Done – blogged about it here!
2. Finish Central Park Hoodie (in progress since August 2007)
Done — blogged about it here!
3. Finish Wicked Sweater (in progress since August 2007)
Nope. Frogged it and destashed the yarn. I just wasn’t feeling this one.
4. Knit Juno Regina (gift)
Nope. Never started on it, and destashed the yarn. I am seriously not a lace knitter.
5. Knit another Clapotis (gift)
Done! This one was for my friend Carolyn, and I made one for myself as well.
6. Knit at least one pair of socks (gift)
Yup! I knit two pairs for my sister. I also knit two pairs for myself.

Completed Knitting Projects from 2008

Spinning:
Spin. At least a little. Once in awhile.
No, there was no spinning at all last year. In fact, right before Christmas I sold my Lendrum. I had to admit that I am not a spinner.

Cooking/Baking:
Try at least one new recipe per month.

New Recipes Tried in 2008

I was quite successful with this goal! The only month I skipped was October, but in some months I experimented with several new recipes. I will admit that there were times when I only tried something new because I needed to meet my monthly goal, but I don’t think that was necessarily a bad thing. Here are all my posts about the new recipes I tried. My favorites (i.e., the ones I will totally make again and again) are definitely the enchiladas (November), the Pumpkin Bread (also November), and the Mexican Wedding Cookies (April).

January 2008
Sausage, Cheese, and Basil Lasagna
Coco-Nana Bread

February 2008
Hazelnut Nutella Sandwich Cookies

March 2008
(Chocolate) Cream Cheese Cookies
Rosemary Beef Skewers
Chicken Marsala

April 2008
Mexican Wedding Cookies
Penne Pasta with Meat Sauce

May 2008
French Dip Sandwich

June 2008
Pork and Veggie Stir-Fry

July 2008
Creamy Lemon Squares

August 2008
Farfalle with Zucchini

September 2008
Sirloin Steaks with Mushroom Sauce

October 2008
none

November 2008
Artichoke Soup
Enchiladas
Rocky Road Brownies
Beef Stroganoff
Pumpkin Bread

December 2008
Baked Ziti with Spinach and Tomatoes
“Real” Oatmeal

What’s next for 2009? I’ve been mulling over this, and the only goal I want to carry over from last year is to continue trying at one new recipe each month. I really liked doing that last year and felt that I pushed myself a bit. Sadly, I don’t have specific goals for my knitting…I am just going with whatever I feel like knitting. Maybe the best goal for me right now is to continue enjoying it?

15 Comments on “My Fourth Blogiversary”

  1. Oiyi says:

    I agree, just enjoy the knitting. You accomplished a lot in 2009!

  2. Oiyi says:

    Whoops, I meant 2008.

  3. Beth says:

    Happy blogiversary! I enjoy reading your blog and you always inspire me with your projects – whether they are knitting or cooking related! Here’s to a great 2009!

  4. Jennifer says:

    Happy Blogiversary! I’ve enjoyed reading about all of your culinary and knitterly adventures.

  5. lynette says:

    i’m coming out of lurkdom to wish you a very happy blogiversary. all of your handknits are lovely and colorful! your food looks simply delicious.

    in the beginning of 2008, i tried to cook new recipes but fell off the wagon pretty early. i’m glad to see you made it through.

  6. Jodi says:

    Congrats on 4 years! 2008 was a beautiful year of knitting and cooking — love those striped socks in particular. Knitting for enjoyment sounds like a wonderful goal.

  7. Julia says:

    Great update! I’ve always loved reading your blog and I will continue to do so! =D

  8. Karen says:

    Happy blog birthday!

    Enjoying your knitting without any specific goals sounds like a good plan to me!

  9. Rochelle says:

    Congratulations on your blogiversary and on accomplishing so much!

  10. mari says:

    happy blogiversary to you! I think your list for 2008 is fantastic, and I look forward to seeing your food for 2009! (and your knitting, of course!)

  11. Stephanie says:

    What a fantastic list of accomplishments. I love the idea of trying a new recipe every month. I think sometimes the little things – like enjoying your knitting, make the most impact in our lives. I tend to set lofty goals for myself and then feel guilty when I don’t follow through on them. I suppose my goal is to give myself a break and go with the flow without all the pressure I tend to pile on. I can’t wait to see what 2009 holds for you.

  12. gleek says:

    2008 was such a great year for you! i’m sure that you can keep it rolling through 2009. can’t wait to see what new recipes you try this year!

  13. Lisa says:

    They’re beautiful projects, and those recipes look good. Looking forward to seeing your projects this year.

  14. joyce says:

    you’ve done so much last year!! i hope to knit myself a clapotis this year…
    happy blogiversary!

  15. Emilee says:

    Wow, what a year! Happy bloggiversary!