Sew Much Fun

In our den, we have two bright red armchairs. I love that they provide pops of color in a room filled with dark brown furniture, but I’ve been hunting for accent pillows to give them a more polished look. I really liked this pillow from Room and Board, but it was a little too large for the slim chairs. And I wasn’t willing to pay that much for a pillow, especially since I needed two of them. So I switched gears and started looking online at fabrics and pillow forms, and eventually ended up making two of my own 10×14 pillows.

Diamante Pillow

I hadn’t sewn in more than a year, so it took me a few minutes to remember how to wind a bobbin and thread my machine! And I had to re-learn how to hand-sew a slip stitch (to close the opening) since I hadn’t done that in about three years. But it was fun, and now I’m planning to make accent pillows for our couch!

4 Comments on “Sew Much Fun”

  1. Oiyi says:

    It looks great against the red chair!

  2. vanessa says:

    nice fabric! i love taking knitting break to sew. it feels so gratifying being able to make something right away:)

  3. Stephanie says:

    Great fabric! I love the graphic print with the bright red chair. I’m glad you’re happy with how everything turned out – I find making the “right” accessory to finish off a room very satisfying.

  4. Val says:

    Love the neutral color mixed with the modern print!