Crazy for Cowls

Thanks to everyone who chimed in on my last post about blogging. I think generally the feeling is that blogging is a more personal way of communicating about our crafts with those who share our interests, and that we like the stories that go along with the projects. I agree — to me, writing blog posts is certainly more fun than simply entering information on Ravelry!

Back to my knitting FOs…the socks shown in my last post were done in September and were only my second finished project of 2009. And it took me seven months to knit them. Which means I really lost my knitting mojo last year. But I managed to pick up the pace a bit and knit three simple cowls between October and November.

Gloria Cowl for me

Gloria Cowl #2

Yarn: Sundara Sock Yarn, Graphite, 1 skein
Pattern: Gloria Cowl
Needles: US #8 / 16″
Mods: Cast on 81 stitches (instead of 99). Knit 5 rows of seed stitch (instead of 3). Knit until about 10.5 inches, and then back to 5 rows of seed stitch.
Thoughts: I had been hoarding this colorway of Sundara yarn in my stash for at least a year, and when I decided I wanted a gray cowl I thought this would be the perfect yarn. It knit up beautifully, but I hadn’t anticipated that the gray would look purple-ish in certain lighting. It’s hard to find a true gray yarn! Other than that, I like it a lot. The 81 stitches around provides a snug fit (i.e., it doesn’t flop around) and the simple style of the Gloria Cowl goes with any top.

Gloria Cowl for my friend Ruth C. for Christmas:

Gloria Cowl #3

Yarn: Sundara Sock Yarn, Pure Indulgence, 1 skein
Pattern: Gloria Cowl
Needles: US #8 / 16″
Mods: Cast on 85 stitches for a slighter looser fit than the one above. Other than that, same specs as above.
Thoughts: Not much else to add about this one.

Cowl of Kindness for my mom for Christmas

Cowl of Kindness #2

Back in August, I showed my mom my Cowl of Kindness and she liked it. I told her I would knit her one and she picked the yarn from my stash. When she opened the package at Christmas, she was surprised because she had forgotten about it completely!

Yarn: Madelinetosh Sock Yarn, Ginger, 1 skein
Pattern: Cowl of Kindness (Ravelry link)
Needles: US #8 / 16″
Thoughts: It was hard to part with this one, because this yarn showcased the pattern beautifully and orange is one of my favorite colors! I think I need to go pick up some more Madtosh sock yarn soon…

11 Comments on “Crazy for Cowls”

  1. Kitten says:

    I am mad in love with the color of your cowls. I adore your colorsense, I think.

    Also, I’m very glad you are continuing to blog. I do think blogs are much better for building your readers’ sense of community!

  2. Cat says:

    This is true. What you don’t quite get on Ravelry is the personal story, and often that’s what everyone enjoys reading. 🙂

    I love your cowls! I made one a while back, but it came out too large or something so I frogged it. The Cowl of Kindess looks so pretty that I’ll have to try it again.

  3. Beth says:

    Your cowls are lovely! I’m knitting my first cowl and it’s because you’ve inspired me!

  4. Jodi says:

    So beautiful, especially the Cowl of Kindness! I love the stitch pattern. Orange has really grown on me in the last two years or so. I’ve always been a blue/green/plum girl, so it’s very curious!

  5. Brooke says:

    The Cowl of Kindness is gorgeous. I can’t imagine parting with something so lovely.

  6. Orinda says:

    I agree with Kitten – your colorsense is amazing. I want to slurp up each of those luscious cowls.

    I too am trying to figure out the role of my blog now. Ravelry and flickr seem to fill many of the needs that used to be filled by my blog. I’m don’t feel ready to give it up yet, but I have not been putting my energy into it the way I used to. This seems to be a common shift among many in the knitblogosphere – it will be interesting to see where it leads us all.

  7. Stephanie says:

    Great cowls. I made a huge, chunky cowl (aka snood) for a Christmas gift. I love that they’re such quick knits. I’m glad you’ve decided to stick with blogging!

  8. keri says:

    I love how the hand-dyed nature of the yarn shines through in the simple yet effective patterns – you always have such a wonderful eye for picking colors!

  9. Jill says:

    Love all the cowls!

  10. erin says:

    I’m glad you’re keeping your blog 🙂 Lovely cowls for presents. I have been knitting a cowl too.

  11. Oiyi says:

    Wow, all the yarn you used are beautiful!