Evangeline Fingerless Mitts

Evangeline Fingerless Mitts

When I am at work, I park my car underground. This works out really great during the summer months when the temperatures are in the high 90s or 100s, but in the winter my car gets chilly. Since November, I’ve been telling myself that I need to knit up some fingerless mitts because my steering wheel is cold at the end of the day. I had a pair of Fetching mitts from 2006, but I only wore them for one season because the fit wasn’t right (too big) and the yarn (Debbie Bliss Cashmerino Aran) pilled like crazy. I can’t even remember what I did with them.

I saw the Evangeline pattern a long time ago and printed it. If my memory is correct, I believe it used to be a free pattern on MagKnits. Well, when I reorganized my craft room over the summer, I sorted through the many knitting patterns I printed over the years and tossed the ones I didn’t think I would use. Guess which pattern ended up in the recyle pile? Yup — Evangeline. So in order to knit these mitts, I actually paid for a pattern that I used to have for free. You can bet I was kicking myself for being overzealous in my cleaning!

But the pattern was worth it. I really like these mitts. They are easy to knit but not super boring. The fit is perfect, and I am hoping (fingers crossed) that the yarn will hold up well. This was my second time using Dream in Color Classy, and I liked it a lot better than I thought I would. I don’t particularly like the feel of DIC when I’m knitting with it — it seems kind of rough — but it was a good match for this pattern and the mitts don’t feel rough or itchy at all on my hands. Verdict: I would definitely knit this pattern again with the same yarn.

Evangeline Fingerless Mitts

Pattern: Evangeline (Ravelry link)
Yarn: Dream in Color Classy, Grey Tabby, less than 1 skein
Needles: US #7 / 32″ for Magic Loop

Evangeline Fingerless Mitts

7 Comments on “Evangeline Fingerless Mitts”

  1. Beth says:

    I love these mitts! The pattern is great and the texture of the yarn looks really neat. Stay warm! 🙂

  2. Oiyi says:

    They are gorgeous! I really hate it when free patterns are no longer free anymore.

  3. Ingrid says:

    Buying a pattern, that I previously had is something that I would do! Nonetheless, the mitts look gorgeous.

  4. Brooke says:

    I love them! Fingerless mitts are so practical! Perfect for winter.

  5. Stephanie says:

    It seems that I always do things like that – I keep the things I don’t need and throw away something that I later want. Ugh. The mitts are fabulous and I’m sure you’ll get a lot of use of them. I wear my fingerless mitts more than the weather here dictates, just because I like having my fingers available for things like the cell phone and the camera shutter release. =)

  6. Cheri says:

    Caitlyn! You knit! you blogged!
    life is good, and so are those awesome fingerless mitts! I really need to make myself some…

  7. Jane says:

    Those are so lovely! I really need to make some more fingerless mitts to keep my hands warm as I cycle. Heh, I’ve had to replace patterns before too – although in my case it’s usually because I’ve lost them in the chaos that is my flat, and the download link has expired, rather than due to any over-zealous cleaning!
    By the way, could I ask what the beautiful orange fabric is that you use for the wristlet at the bottom of the page? The comments on that post seem to be closed and I would love to know what it is, it’s so pretty!