Andes Crème De Menthe Cookies

I first encountered the Andes Crème De Menthe Cookies at a party about a year ago. I asked the hostess for the recipe, but the problem was that I could not locate the requisite Andes Mint baking chips. Fast forward to last week, when a colleague of mine — the same one who gave me the the recipe for these other Andes Mint cookies — mentioned that he found the baking chips at the new Target in town.

Andes Creme de Menthe Cookies

The recipe was a bit interesting to me. I’m certainly not an expert baker, but most recipes I’ve used seem to call for the baking soda and baking powder to go in with the dry ingredients. This recipe (which is essentially the same as the one on the back of the package) has the baking soda+powder mixed in at the same time as the sugars, butter, and eggs. Second, most recipes call for brown sugar to be packed when measured. This one didn’t say either way, so I opted for somewhere in between packed and loose. Third, the recipe gave a weight measurement for the size of the dough balls instead of a volume or diameter measurement. Yes, I did bust out the scale.

While these cookies tasted perfectly fine to me, I can’t say I particularly lliked them. It felt like I was eating one large Andes Mint without really tasting any cookie. I guess my memory of them was better than the actual thing.

7 Comments on “Andes Crème De Menthe Cookies”

  1. Oiyi says:

    I use to love eating those chocolates as a kid.

  2. Lily says:

    You can also find the Andes mint chips at Cost Plus sometimes. 🙂 Looks delicious!

  3. Beth says:

    Maybe you’d like them better if you used half Andes/half chocolate chips? That might cut the mint a little. They do look good though!

  4. Elli says:

    I have to say…eating one whacking great andes mint sounds pretty good to me! Those chips are now on my “must find” list!

  5. Stephanie says:

    Yum, although I know I’ve never seen those chips around here (and we don’t have Target, so there). I’ve found that as I get older, the less I like chocolate and mint together in any sort of dessert. Maybe I’m just getting strange in my old age…

  6. Brooke says:

    well, they LOOK delicious! I do love those mints, reminds me of family vacations and staying in hotels.

  7. Kathy says:

    Yum! I love mint and chocolate. My sister loves creme de menthe so I’m going to pass it along to her too. Thank you.