Star Crossed Slouchy Beret

I like the “friend activity” page on Ravelry because it exposes me to patterns that I might not otherwise see. That was where I came across the Star Crossed Slouchy Beret pattern.

Star Crossed Slouchy Beret

This pattern only uses one skein of Malabrigo, which is a big plus.

Star Crossed Slouchy Beret

Sadly, though, I don’t think this beret works well on me. It isn’t slouchy enough and generally looks too small. I should have done at least another half of the pattern repeat before the decreases. I’m still debating whether to frog it and re-knit it, or to donate the hat to charity.

Star Crossed Slouchy Beret

Pattern: Star Crossed Slouchy Beret (Rav link)
Yarn: Malabrigo Worsted, Polar Morn, less than 1 skein
Needles: US #9, #10, #11
Mods: I used US #9/16″ needles for the ribbing based on project notes I found Ravelry. I think this worked well. The US #11s/16″ were for the main body. For the decreases I used US#10 DPNs. I’m not sure why the pattern calls for 24″ needles — I tried them and didn’t like how the stitches were overly stretched out. The 16″ needles worked just fine.

5 Comments on “Star Crossed Slouchy Beret”

  1. Beth says:

    I’m all for giving hats to charity, but I think you should reknit it. It’s beautiful, looks great with your hair, and goes with those lovely mitts!

  2. Oiyi says:

    What a shame that it’s not slouchy enough for you. I definitely like it to be slouchy.

    Since you have yarn leftover, I would reknit it. It’s a beautiful color! Is there charities that take non-machine washable knit wear?

  3. Brooke says:

    What a beautiful hat! I love the texture and color….and of course, Malabrigo is my favorite. Definitely tear it out. I think you could just tear halfway and pick it up, if you’re careful enough. i’ve done similar things to hats in the past.

  4. mari says:

    It’s such a pretty color! but if you’re not happy with it, i would reknit… that way you can wear such a beautiful hat!

  5. joyce says:

    It’s nice! Pattern and color, I like. – I love your fingerless gloves too!