In Search of the Perfect Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookie

I love the combination of peanut butter and chocolate, but I have yet to find the perfect cookie recipe that incorporates both ingredients. Awhile back I tried the one from Smitten Kitchen (found here), but sadly they didn’t work out for me. They came out extremely flat and were way too sweet for my taste.

A couple of weeks ago, I baked a batch of Peanut Butter Chocolate Chunk Cookies using an Everyday Food recipe. I thought they turned out pretty decent. I used 8 oz of chocolate chips (about 1 1/3 cups) because that was all I had on hand. I also used a mixture of reduced fat creamy and reduced fat super chunky peanut butter. The peanut butter flavor came out quite good — I could taste it, but it wasn’t overwhelming. The only thing I didn’t like? The cookies became very hard and crispy after they cooled. I prefer a much softer cookie, so I ended up microwaving my cookies before I ate them.

Peanut Butter Chocolate Chunk Cookies

I’m planning to try this recipe again, with the following mods in the hopes that I will achieve the texture I am striving for:
(1) use a cookie scoop to get more of a “mound” shape
(2) mix full fat with reduced fat peanut butter
(3) reduce baking time from 14 minutes to 13 minutes

Do any of you have suggestions that might work or a favorite PB chocolate chip recipe to share?

8 Comments on “In Search of the Perfect Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookie”

  1. Beth says:

    No advice here – the whole crisp versus soft cookie thing has always been a mystery to me! Your cookies look really delicious!

  2. Jenipurr says:

    I just made a batch of chocolate peanut butter chip cookies on Monday (they’re chocolate cookies with peanut butter chips (and they are far more peanut-buttery than when I’ve done peanut butter w/chocolate chips. Or are you mainly looking just for peanut butter cookies w/chocolate?

  3. Oiyi says:

    I recently tried a recipe from that magazine that was flourless. The kids and adults from Melody’s playgroup loved them. http://www.pbs.org/everydayfood/recipes/flourless_peanut.html

  4. Oiyi says:

    Whoops, forgot to mention that I omitted the peanuts because I didn’t have any on hand.

  5. keri says:

    Ooh I love a great cookie scoop, the red one from King Arthur flour is the most perfect size and makes perfectly rounded cookies. All your photos look delish – you’re making me hungry! Off to go hunt down some cookies =) I’m happy to take any “failures” off your hands!

  6. Brooke says:

    I think it’s important not to overmix the cookie dough. You don’t want to build up too much gluten. Make sure the butter is soft and the eggs are room temperature so that you don’t have to work too hard to get the ingredients incorporated. Sometimes I’ll throw the flour in before everything looks completely emulsified to prevent overmixing. Just a suggestion. Usually helps to keep the cookies soft, I find. Good luck!

  7. mari says:

    peanut butter and chocolate… drool… even if they weren’t ideal, i’m sure they were plenty tasty!!!

  8. Christina says:

    At least you had cookies! I’m going to be testing out a pb cookie recipe this weekend and I’m hoping for more of a pronounced peanut taste (although I don’ t think I have any peanuts left..). I would say to increase the heat to 375° and let the cookies cook for 11-12 minutes (or until set but not completely cooked) then letting the cookies rest on the sheet for 10 minutes.