Very Cabley Mittens

Over the holidays, I was in the mood to knit a pair of mittens. I had purchased a Chevron Love Mitten Kit and was super excited about working on them! However, after ripping and re-starting a mitten four times, I gave up. As much as I love colorwork, it just isn’t my strength because of my weak Continental knitting. It messes up my gauge and looks sloppy, so I need to commit time to improving my skills before I try colorwork again. I ended up giving away the kit. I was disappointed, because I really like the mittens.

I searched on Ravelry for other mitten patterns, and came across the Very Cabley Mittens. They appeared simple, and I had enough leftover yarn from the Evangeline mitts. So I cast on and finished them about a week later.

Very Cabley Mittens

Very Cabley Mittens

Pattern: Very Cabley Mittens (Ravelry link)
Yarn: Dream in Color Classy, Grey Tabby, less than 1 skein
Needles: US #5 for cuff, US #6 for body
Mods: I went down a needle size for the cuff based on project notes I found on Rav. I did not check gauge, but I know I knit tightly. Normally, I have to go up one needle size to reach gauge. However, since I have small hands I stuck with the #6s suggested in the pattern. It worked out fine for me.

4 Comments on “Very Cabley Mittens”

  1. Beth says:

    Your Very Cabley Mittens look very warm and beautiful!

  2. keri says:

    Maybe a different colorwork technique would help? How are you holding your yarns when you’re doing it – 2 in left hand? How are you wrapping?

    I’m the opposite, I’m a thrower but I knit colorwork continental, and I find that works for me. Maybe trying colorwork throwing (1 in each hand) would help with the evenness? I’m also trying to remember, I took a class with Beth Brown-Reinsel and she had some amazing colorwork tension tips…it made my colorwork a zillion times better. I’ll have to dig out the pamphlet she handed out to see if she has any new tips for you.

    With all that said, LOVE your cabled mittens, they look so soft and squishy!

  3. Brooke says:

    I love the texture of these mittens! Wonderful work. (I’m also a poor colorwork knitter, but I’m working on it, slowly) Good luck!

  4. Oiyi says:

    I love these mittens! And a great color, too. I also got that kit. Which colorway did you get? I got “I Heart Green”.