Two Dinners

I go through phases with my cooking and baking. Sometimes I’m enthusiastic about trying new recipes, and other times I’m content to stick with the tried and true favorites. Lately, I’ve been in an experimental mood and actually made two new dishes in one day (which has got to be a record for me). One was a Tuna Noodle Casserole from the January/February 2010 issue of Cooking Light.

Tuna Noodle Casserole

I had never eaten tuna casserole before, and was hoping this might be a simple, hearty meal. I incorporated a few mods as suggested in the recipe reviews, and they worked well, but unfortunately this is not repeatable dish. Hubby and I learned that we don’t like tuna casserole — it’s just too heavy.

I also made the Chipotle Bean Burritos from the same issue of Cooking Light, and these turned out quite well!

Chipotle Bean Burritos

We used pico de gallo instead of salsa, bagged lettuce instead of the chopped tomatoes and lettuce, and cilantro instead of green onions. The cilantro made a huge difference – it really brightened up the flavors! This recipe is definitely a keeper. On a side note, the magazine recommended organic beans because they are lower in sodium. I did a quick comparison at the supermarket, and was surprised to find that it was indeed true.

Chipotle Bean Burritos

6 Comments on “Two Dinners”

  1. Jodi says:

    Mmm… the burritos looks great! They’ve been on my to-make list since the issue arrived on my doorstep.

    I think you have to come to tuna casserole (or “hot dish” as we call it in MN) as a kid to truly enjoy it. And it’s one of those KISS dishes where Cooking Light gussying-up may not actually help. That said, my dad only learned to like it in his 60s, and that’s b/c he started using pepperjack cheese and throwing in some Tabasco sauce.

  2. Oiyi says:

    Mmmm…they both look so good. I think tuna casserole is an acquired taste for the Asian palate. My hubby would love the burrito.

  3. Brooke says:

    Your pictures are so lovely! They really make me hungry….might have to try those burritos!

  4. Beth says:

    Yum! Both dishes look delicious but the bean burrito photos are making me drool. 🙂

  5. Christina says:

    The chipotle burritos sound really good! I agree about cilantro brightening flavors.
    Do the non-organic beans have the same amount of sodium after rinsing them, or do they still have more?

  6. Stephanie says:

    I actually have a tuna casserole recipe I really like, but I never make it because my hubby HATES tuna. Won’t even touch it. So every once in awhile when he’s out of town I make it for myself and savor it. I agree with Jodi – in my mind tuna casserole is kind of like mac and cheese. It’s only good if it’s the real thing – I don’t think comfort foods should be low fat =) I need to be more adventurous in my cooking, but it always seems daunting.