The Hoodless Central Park Hoodie

In March 2008, I completed my Central Park Hoodie. It took quite awhile — about six months — and the finishing was extremely daunting to me. Two years after completion, though, I would say that the effort definitely paid off. The CPH is one of my favorite sweaters. I love the color, it is super warm, and the wool feels comfortable against my skin.

There are two things I would change:
(1) The hood. I would wear the CPH more if it didn’t have a hood. I don’t use it at all, and it creates an uncomfortable lump when I wear a coat over it.
(2) The size. I knit the 36″, which is clearly too large. There is excess sweater flapping around in the back.

So I decided to another another CPH this year. Meet the smaller, hoodless version.

The Hoodless Central Park Hoodie

The Hoodless Central Park Hoodie

I was tempted to knit this sweater in gray or even another shade of brown because I tend to gravitate toward those colors. But I made myself branch out. Even when I finished the project, I was still second-guessing my color choice. I like grass green a lot; I just don’t wear much of it.

The Hoodless Central Park Hoodie

From beginning to end, this sweater took me seven weeks. Not a record by any stretch of the imagination, but very good for someone who usually drags these things out! What probably helped is that I didn’t have much of anything else on the needles so I tried to be monogamous. The seaming didn’t feel nearly as brutal this time around. It still took me a few hours, but it went smoothly.

The Hoodless Central Park Hoodie

Overall, I really like the style and fit of this hoodless version! We’ll see what I think after another couple of years.

Yarn: Cascade 220 in Color 9430 (Highland Green), a little over 4 skeins
Pattern: from Fall 2006 KnitScene
Size: 32″
Needles: US #7 and #9
Modifications:
: Lengthened the body by half an inch
: Followed normaknits’ guidelines (Rav link) for the hoodless version.
–After seaming the shoulders, use the smaller needles to pick up the same number of stitches you would have picked up for the hood. I picked up the stitches with the wrong side facing me so that the ridge would be on the inside of the sweater.
–The next row is *p2, k2, repeat from * to last two stitches, p2. Continue to knit the 2×2 ribbing as established until you reach the desired length of the collar. I knit for about 3.75″; I think 4″ would be even better. BO all stitches.
–With the right side facing you, pick up stitches for the button band starting from the bottom front and continuing all the way up through the end of the collar. I picked up 126 stitches on each side. I can’t remember now how I came up with that number, but it worked okay for me. You want to pick a number that is a multiple of 4 + 2 so that you can do the same 2×2 ribbing as for the collar. The next row is *p2, k2, repeat from * to last two stitches, p2. I knit the button bands until they reached 2″. BO all stitches. Repeat for second button band.

10 Comments on “The Hoodless Central Park Hoodie”

  1. Rebekah says:

    This is gorgeous! I love the color on you and the mods that you did suit you well. Beautiful job!

  2. Oiyi says:

    It looks beautiful! So professional looking. I am like you about colors (would knit neutral colors), but I am glad that you branched out. It’s a great color on you.

  3. mari says:

    beautiful! it fits so well. i love this pattern even more without the hood!

  4. Jessica says:

    The (lack of) hoodie looks great! You did an awesome job with the fit and modifications. I guess it helps to knit something twice, but I never have the patience to do that!

  5. Beth says:

    It turned out so well! I really love it and how it looks on you. It does fit you much better than your other one and the collar looks great. Wonderful job!

  6. Christina says:

    I love the color! I know what you mean about sticking with the same colors, but this will be perfect for the summer when you need something extra at night.

    I envy your seaming skills! I need to finish up a sweater that was supposed to be a gift, and now can’t be worn since it warmed up =(. I’m having trouble with the zipper band.

  7. Walden121 says:

    It looks great and the green looks wonderful on you!

  8. Brooke says:

    This is awesome! I’m so impressed! And in such great timing! Nice nice nice!

  9. Stephanie says:

    It’s so cute! I love your collar modification.

  10. erin says:

    Great fit and nice colour. It’s a classic 🙂 and you’ve got lovely silky hair 🙂