Chickpea Potato Curry

On Sunday evenings, Hubby and I cook a big batch of food that will last us for four nights. This means that we don’t have any leftovers to bring for lunch, because the leftovers are reserved for dinner. So for years, my lunches have consisted of a sandwich, chips, and sometimes cookies. Not exactly the most nutritious combination, especially given my sandwich and chip selections (such as peanut butter and jelly with Lay’s Classic Potato Chips). And I doubt that cookies could be considered wholesome.

Recently, I decided to start packing better food. I am tired of sandwiches, plus I think eating so much junk is catching up with me. So my new plan is that on weekends, I’ll also cook a second batch of food just for lunches. This was my first week of doing so, and I made Chickpea Potato Curry, Broccoli with Red Pepper Flakes and Toasted Garlic, and rice.

Chickpea Potato Curry

The Chickpea Potato Curry was new to me and was yummy. The prep was minimal, and once the veggies were chopped everything went into one pan for about 30 minutes of simmering. Which is pretty darn easy, and it yielded five lunches for me and two for Hubby. Not bad, right? The broccoli side dish is from the March 2007 issue of Cooking Light and is a standard rotation for us. Really simple and tasty.

I’ve already found several new recipes I want to try for lunches, and once we head into summer, I’ll probably do some salads. What do you usually eat for weekday lunches?

6 Comments on “Chickpea Potato Curry”

  1. Jackie says:

    Weekday lunches stump me. (I thought it would be easier once I was home full time, but it’s much, much harder. I just don’t have the time or inclination to make an involved lunch.) I am actually eating a PB&J while writing this comment.

    Back when I was working in an office, I really enjoyed wraps for lunch. Greens, roasted red peppers, feta, balsamic in a lavash. Oh, and I’m also a big fan of soup for lunch.

    The chickpea potato curry looks delicious 🙂

  2. Oiyi says:

    That is such a great idea about making a big batch of food on the weekend. I am the only one that cooks and on the really tiring days, I don’t feel like cooking dinner. So, it’s either take out or eat whatever is leftover.

    One thing I have done is freezing portions of food. I cook big so that there is always leftovers for lunches for my husband and me. But sometimes, I will portion out 2 more meals and freeze them. It really works out for the nights I go out to my knitting group.
    It’s kinda along the lines of the book, Frozen Assets.

    If you like chick peas, you should try chana masala. My friend, who is Indian, made some for me and it was delicious. Yummy with rice or anything.

  3. Brooke says:

    That looks so good! What a great idea.
    I’m really lucky because I work in a kitchen. I don’t have to worry about bringing food. It’s such a great way for me to save money too. The chef cooks lunch for us every day, and it’s usually well balanced. I was always a fan of bringing salads, however, before I started working in kitchens. Something with beans, veggies, and maybe even some cold noodles. Then dressing on the side, and something crunchy.
    Good luck with your plan!

  4. Christy says:

    That looks beautiful and tasty. I’m really learning to love veggies more and more for their taste and ease of preparation. I recently joined in on ordering a veggie box from local farm (my work is a dropoff point) and everything tastes better than in the store! Today I just stuffed a bunch of mixed greens (kale included) in a tupperware with chopped carrot, apple, and ranch. I also tend to grab those frozen burritos or top ramen with kim chee and frozen peas for lunches. No prep work.

  5. mari says:

    you are so good! that looks like the tastiest lunch. weekday lunches are the hardest for me. at work, i tend to go buy stuff like Daphne’s or Pei Wei (awful, i know) and at home it’s sandwiches. But lately (since Julia’s been born) I’ve been so lucky to have lots of home cooked meals. It’ll be hard to adjust once I don’t have aunts and moms and sisters helping out!

  6. Beth says:

    I’m still stuck in the sandwich, something crunchy, something sweet routine. But I only have to do that one day a week, so it’s not too bad. Your new food looks yummy!