Chocolate Peanut Butter Chip Cookies

Chocolate Peanut Butter Chip Cookies

After my last post about peanut butter cookies, my friend Jennifer kindly gave me this amazing recipe for Chocolate Peanut Butter Chip Cookies. These cookies are really delicious and have made it on my list of all-time favorites. Here is the recipe, with my notes in brackets.

Chocolate Peanut Butter Chip Cookies
From the book Cooking for Your Dragon (Leslie Brumagin, Managing Editor, with stories and lore by Bonnie Davis, based on characters created by Randal Spangler)

1 cup butter [at room temperature]
1 1/2 cups sugar
2 eggs
2 teaspoons vanilla
2 cups flour
2/3 cup cocoa [unsweetened]
3/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 (12 oz) package peanut butter chips [I only found the 10 oz package]

Cream together butter, sugar, eggs, and vanilla. Add the rest of the ingredients and stir until blended. [I whisked together the dry ingredients in separate bowl and then added to them to the creamed mixutre.] Drop in heaping tablespoons onto greased cookie sheets. Bake at 350 degrees for 10-14 minutes [12 minutes worked for me]. Makes about 3 dozen. [I must like my cookies smaller, because I got 2 dozen from a half batch.]

Make sure to have a glass of milk nearby!

On a related note, for those of you who love cookies but can’t finish your batch before they go stale — like yours truly — you can freeze half the dough and bake it later. I’ve done it successfully with these cookies and with regular chocolate chip ones as well. I use the King Arthur tablespoon cookie scoop and place the scoops of dough close together on a parchment-lined baking sheet. Freeze the dough balls for at least a couple of hours (so that they aren’t sticky anymore). Place the now-frozen dough into a ziplock bag, and you’re all set! I bake them straight from the freezer for the same amount of time as the recipe calls for. A quick Google search showed recommendations for baking 1-2 minutes longer, but I haven’t needed to do that. The results taste great and I love having easy access to freshly-baked cookies made from scratch.

Happy baking!

5 Comments on “Chocolate Peanut Butter Chip Cookies”

  1. Oiyi says:

    Oh, a reverse Peanut Butter Chocolate Cookie. I love it. This looks so good. I am going to have to hunt for Peanut Butter Chips because that is not widely available in my local crappy markets.

  2. sara says:

    Oh my! These look great. I’m definitely giving this recipe a try soon!

  3. Brooke says:

    These look wonderful! What a great idea. There’s almost nothing I like better than chocolate and peanut butter. Yum!

  4. Beth says:

    I’m glad you found a recipe that you like! And thanks for the great tip about freezing the dough and baking as is. I am going to try that soon!

  5. Rebekah says:

    yummy! These are my favorite kinds of cookies!