Homemade Pizza

As a baker, I shy away from making bread. I feel somewhat intimidated by yeast-based recipes and I’ve only ever used yeast a couple of times — once for no-knead bread, and once for classic cinnamon rolls. Then I saw Brooke’s post about her homemade pizza, and I was inspired to try my hand at making pizza from scratch.

Homemade Pizza

I used Giada’s Pizza Dough recipe and followed Brooke’s example of throwing in some chopped fresh rosemary and cheese into the dough while mixing. I had some problems with the dough — it was much too wet, and in hindsight I should have added more flour before attempting to take it out of the food processor. Me struggling with removing the overly sticky dough was not a pretty sight. The recipe didn’t indicate how long or at what temperature the dough should be baked, so I experimented. I decided on 400 degrees for 4 minutes without toppings, and then an additional 15-20 minutes with toppings added (depends on whether you are making a wee 6-inch personal size pizza like the one shown above or a 12-inch). The dough tasted pretty good — the fresh rosemary in it certainly made a difference. A single batch yielded enough for one 6-inch and one 12-inch pizza.

For the sauce, I adapted the Exquisite Pizza Sauce from allrecipes.com based on user reviews. I omitted the honey, anchovy paste, and dried marjorom, and let the sauce sit overnight in the fridge instead of just thirty minutes. It was yummy! This recipe is a definitely keeper.

I kept the toppings simple. I think the key to avoiding soggy pizza is to go light on the toppings. I used a grated three-cheese blend (Romano, Parmesan, and Asiago), mushrooms, bell peppers, olives, and basil.

I had fun making the pizza and it was tasty, so I plan to do it again! Next time, I want to try Smitten Kitchen’s really simple pizza dough. Do you have a favorite pizza dough recipe to share?

6 Comments on “Homemade Pizza”

  1. Jessica says:

    Looks yummy! I actually prefer bread making to other baking. It doesn’t make me feel so guilty when eating it! I also just discovered the smitten kitchen blog as well. Funny how things will pop up in multiple places once your eyes are opened!

  2. keri says:

    Yum! I was just making pizza last night – here’s my latest fav recipe (http://thepioneerwoman.com/cooking/2010/03/cpks-bbq-chicken-pizza)

    There’s a crust recipe in there too – it’s more of a thin crust than I usually do but it compliments with the taste of the bbq sauce nicely!

  3. Oiyi says:

    Yum, looks like a delicious pizza. I love working with yeast doughs. The kneading and waiting for it rise can be very relaxing.

  4. Brooke says:

    Hooray! Congratulations. That picture is absolutely mouth-watering. I want some right now. Thanks for trying the cheese and herbs in the dough. I hope your next batch comes out less sticky!

  5. Beth says:

    Yum! I have my grandpa’s recipe but it was not a success the one time I tried it. So I’ll be watching your blog for replies. 🙂

  6. Rebekah says:

    This looks so incredibly delicious! I need to start making my own dough again. (in the past I used the basic starter recipe from Artisan bread in 5 min a day)