Banana Espresso Chocolate Chip Muffins

Banana Espresso Chocolate Chip Muffins

I was wandering around Crate and Barrel the other day with a gift card burning a hole in my pocket when Baked: New Frontiers in Baking caught my attention. I will admit that the brown and orange book jacket drew me in because I love those colors together. But I also remembered seeing this book mentioned on a baking blog months ago and thinking that it sounded interesting. Written by Matt Lewis and Renato Poliafito, it contains the most popular recipes from their bakery Baked, which they opened in Brooklyn in 2005.

The first recipe I flipped to was for banana espresso chocolate chip muffins. Oooh. The second recipe I landed on? Chipotle Cheddar Scones. Oooh again! And the book was on sale! So of course, I forked over my gift card and the book came home with me. I spent quite some time pouring over it before baking anything — it’s a great read.

The banana espresso chocolate chip muffins are super moist, light, and fluffy. The banana and chocolate flavors are strong. I would say these muffins are probably the best I have ever made. The one thing I would change for next time is to increase the amount of instant espresso and dissolve it in a bit of water first to see if that yields a stronger flavor. But overall, the muffins were absolutely delicious!

Banana Espresso Chocolate Chip Muffins
From Baked: New Frontiers in Baking by Matt Lewis and Renato Poliafito
Recipe posted with permission

1 1/2 cups mashed, very ripe bananas (about 4 medium bananas)
1/2 cup sugar
1/4 cup firmly packed light brown sugar
1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, melted
1/4 cup whole milk
1 large egg
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon instant espresso powder
1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
1 cup (6 ounces) semisweet chocolate chips

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Spray a 12-cup muffin pan with non-stick cooking spray.

In a medium bowl, stir together the bananas, sugars, butter, milk, and egg.

In another medium bowl, whisk together the flour, instant espresso powder, baking soda and salt. Make a well in the middle of the dry ingredients. Pour the wet ingredients into the well and stir just until combined. Fold in the chocolate chips.

Fill each cup about three-quarters full. Bake in the center of the oven for 20-25 minutes, until a toothpick inserted in the center of the muffin comes out clean.

Move the muffin pan to a cooling rack, and let cool for 15 minutes. After 15 minutes, remove the muffins from the pan and allow them to finish cooling on the cooling rack.

Muffins can be stored in an airtight container for up to 2 days.

11 Comments on “Banana Espresso Chocolate Chip Muffins”

  1. keri says:

    Oh those looks delicious – I’ve never tried cooking with espresso before but I may need to give it a try. Are they caffeinated do you happen to notice? Or does the caffeine burn off like using alcohol in cooking?

  2. jody says:

    I’ve tried a similar recipe and they were delicious! I think I’ll have to put this on my list to try next!

  3. Beth says:

    I’m not a coffee drinker so I’m not sure I’d like the espresso flavor, but the muffins do look fabulous! Do you think a non-coffee person would like them?

    The chipotle cheddar scones sound delicious, too. I just Googled and found a Cooking Light recipe for them that I might try.

  4. mari says:

    oooh…. yum… although i can only eat one ingredient now (BANANA!) this is going in my save file. can’t wait to each chocolate and caffeine again (when julia stops breastfeeding… hopefully she won’t want it forever!)

  5. Rebekah says:

    Oh my goodness…these muffins look and sound so delicious! I will have to check out that book.

  6. Oiyi says:

    That book is great. I made the Black Forest Cookies and my friends still talk about it. I drive by Baked (the actual bakery) in Red Hook, Brooklyn quite frequently but I have never had time to stop in there. But a lot of cafes and specialty stores in my neighborhood carry their baked goods.

  7. Brooke says:

    Yum! I can’t wait to try these. What a perfect combination. I wonder if, topped with frosting, they would make a good cupcake? Looking for cupcakes to make for someone special’s birthday. (hint: he loves banana)
    Lovely picture too!

  8. Orinda says:

    My mouth is watering – those look (and sound) delish!

  9. Christina says:

    I’m going to have to look into this book! I really like espresso+fruit combinations.

  10. joyce says:

    those look really good!

  11. Heather says:

    Those look super good, I would have never thought of that combination. Delicious.

    And your bags a couple posts back are super super super cute. I love the fabric and I can really see the attention to detail in the stitching. Just beautiful!