Szechuan-Style Tofu

Szechuan Style Tofu

A couple of weeks ago I made Szechuan-Style Tofu from the March 2010 issue of Cooking Light. This one is totally a winner — it is very easy, has great flavor, and goes perfectly with rice.

Mods
:: I could not find matchstick-cut carrots, so I used 3/4 cup shredded carrots.
:: I also could not find bottled ground fresh ginger, so I went for jarred chopped ginger (found in the spice aisle). Seemed to work fine.
:: Omitted the peanuts

This dish is definitely going to be a regular on the meal rotation!

9 Comments on “Szechuan-Style Tofu”

  1. Rebekah says:

    Oh man…this looks so good! I think we might be having this for dinner tonight! Beautiful photo, too!

  2. Oiyi says:

    Looks like a great tofu dish! It’s making me crave Ma Po Tofu.

  3. Jodi says:

    Mmm… looks delicious! Thanks for the recipe recommendation.

  4. Beth says:

    I’m so glad you posted about this. I love Szechuan and I love tofu! Yum, yum, yum!

  5. Brooke says:

    Wow, this looks so good! I need to start cooking tofu again. Wonderful pic.

  6. erin says:

    My faves – mushrooms, tofu and black bean garlic sauce! Must have been yum! 🙂

  7. joyce says:

    Looks good!! I love mushrooms!!

  8. Heather says:

    Mmmmm. That looks super delicious. I never eat that much tofu. I should try it!

  9. erin says:

    This looks so yummy! Oh, and I wanted to leave a comment on your Baked post, but it wouldn’t let me. 🙂 Anyway, I’ve been wanting to make those scones since I got that cookbook, but haven’t yet! There are so many great recipes in that book!