Cashew Chicken

I was perusing my blog archives to see the different chicken recipes we’ve tried over the years, and it surprised me to find ten different chicken posts. Because until now, we had all of one repeat chicken dish in our dinner rotation — Basil Chicken in Coconut Curry Sauce. We love that one, but we make it infrequently because the prep takes us a fair amount of time. But now, we finally have our second repeatable chicken dish — Cashew Chicken from the October 2009 issue of Everyday Food.

Cashew Chicken

My main issue with chicken is that I dislike the flavor of leftover chicken. There is a Chinese word that describes my interpretation of that taste, but I can’t think of an English word that fits it perfectly. “Stale” is probably the closest description, but it is not completely accurate. Hubby and I always cook in batches to last several meals, so whenever we make chicken there will be leftovers.

This Cashew Chicken dish is a winner because it is relatively quick and the leftovers still taste great to me. Instead of 1.5 pounds of chicken, we used closer to 2.6 or 2.7 pounds and doubled all of the sauce ingredients. I threw in four stalks of diced celery to add more color. The only drawback? The cashews were soggy after the first day because they had been sitting in the sauce, so we remedied that by tossing in a bit of fresh cashews after reheating our individual servings. But even the soggy cashews didn’t deter us from loving this dish!

4 Comments on “Cashew Chicken”

  1. Christina says:

    I love the basil chicken in coconut sauce! I haven’t made it in a long time, though.

    This meal looks tasty, especially with the toasted cashews on top.

  2. Beth says:

    I am totally with you on the leftover chicken taste. First time – yummy. Second time – blech! I’m not sure what the English word for that would be either. I’ll have to try this recipe!

  3. Brooke says:

    This looks great! Cashews are my favorite nut. I’m salivating just reading about this dish!

  4. Oiyi says:

    My mom makes a cashew chicken dish for Chinese New Year that is really good. I haven’t had it in years. Your chicken cashew reminded me of it. It looks really good.