Roast Chicken with Macaroni & Cheese

One weekend I decided to go with a comfort food theme, so I made Roast Chicken with Caramelized Shallots and Fontina Mac & Cheese.

Roasted Chicken with Carmelized Shallots

Fontina Macaroni and Cheese

To be honest, I was kind of “meh” about the roast chicken. The recipe called for four shallots. Well, I had never used shallots in such a large quantity before, and guess what I discovered? Hubby and I don’t like shallots at all! So there definitely isn’t anything wrong with the recipe itself — you just have to like shallots! The mac & cheese was absolutely delicious, but it is best consumed on the same day. The leftovers were extremely greasy after reheating, so I recommend either making a half batch or making sure you have a lot of mouths to feed!

6 Comments on “Roast Chicken with Macaroni & Cheese”

  1. Beth says:

    Both dishes look delicious! I do like shallots but I don’t think my family does.

  2. JJ says:

    It looks lovely and delicious. I’ve never had a shallot before, nor do I have any idea what they might taste like.

  3. Oiyi says:

    They both look delicious, but the mac & cheese is calling my name right now! 🙂

  4. Christina says:

    I don’t often cook with shallots, and it’s been so long that I’ve forgotten how they taste. The chicken looks good, though! The mac&cheese looks extremely good, too.

  5. Brooke says:

    Yum! You can’t go wrong with cheese and noodles. Today would be a perfect day for something comforting like that. It just doesn’t seem to want to stop raining!