Pizza Dough Mastered

A couple of months ago, I made pizza dough for the first time. I struggled a bit with the dough, but I loved the idea of making my own and was determined to find a recipe that worked for me. So the search began…

The next recipe I tried was the Basic Pizza Dough from Everyday Food. This one was a total disaster and I didn’t bother to blog about it. I wish I could articulate what was wrong, but all I know is that it tasted awful. We made one pizza with it and threw out the rest of the batch. And we barely managed to make ourselves eat even that one pizza.

In response to my original pizza post, Rebekah mentioned that she used to use the basic recipe from Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day. I had completely forgotten that I purchased that book a couple of years ago. I dusted it off, read through the “master recipe” and decided to give it a shot. And it was a total, total winner! I love it because there is no kneading, it is really really easy, and it tastes great!!! We have made it twice already and declared this dough the keeper! You can find the recipe (with photos and links to videos) on the Artisan Bread in Five website.

Homemade Pizza - Version 2

Details about what I did (which will probably make more sense if you’ve read the recipe):
:: I only made a half batch each time because I didn’t have a sufficiently large lidded container to allow for rising of a whole batch. My 14-cup Rubbermaid worked fine.
:: I mixed all of the ingredients with my stand mixer and dough hook.
:: I added 1/2 teaspoon of dried thyme and 1/4 teaspoon dried rosemary to my half batch. This is the variation to make herbed bread that is noted a couple of pages after the master recipe in the book. Love this as I always have dried thyme and rosemary in my cupboard and no chopping is necessary!
:: When I was ready to use the dough, I used a serrated knife to hack off the amount I needed from the container. Note that the dough is very sticky, so I sprinkled flour on the dough and my hands.
:: I plopped the dough directly onto my baking sheet (that had been sprayed with PAM). Using a roller dusted with flour, I rolled out the dough directly on the sheet. Yes, I’m aware that this isn’t the “right” way to roll dough but it works for me because I prefer mini-pizzas (in the 5″ – 6″ diameter range).
:: I pre-baked the crust alone on a regular baking sheet (with no sauce or toppings) at 450 degrees Farenheit for 3 minutes. The dough rose a little. Then I added the toppings and baked for another 12-15 minutes. Voila! Dinner was done!

4 Comments on “Pizza Dough Mastered”

  1. Jessica says:

    Lovely pizza. Makes me want some, even though it’s only 8 am here! I’ve used this recipe for pizza dough a time or two. I usually use the one in the better homes and garden’s cookbook (the red one). Pizza dough is much easier to handle if it’s been refrigerated or frozen. I’ll usually make a full batch and freeze half of it. It’s much easier to roll / stretch out. Hmm . . . might have to make some soon! Have you ever tried grilling it?

  2. Oiyi says:

    I love a good pizza! Fortunatley, we have a lot of great places in NYC to satisfy that craving. I got my sister that book a few years ago and have been meaning to get it for myself one of these days. But I am afraid I would bake bread everyday!

  3. Beth says:

    Your pizza looks delicious! We have also tried the Artisan bread recipe for pizza and loved it!

  4. Rebekah says:

    I’m glad this recipe worked out for you! Your pizza looks so yummy 🙂

    I forgot to use the Artisan book a few weeks ago (probably should have used my own advice, right?) when I made dough and had good luck with the Joy of Cooking recipe (it makes 2 crusts).