Padded Sleeve for Kindle 3

Kindle20

Hubby gifted me with a Kindle 3 for my birthday several months ago. It is my first e-reader and I’m really enjoying it! I wanted to protect it with a case and had found some lovely ones on Etsy, but I figured I could make a decent one myself. I thought I would post my instructions for making a padded sleeve for Kindle 3 in case they are helpful to anyone else. This is my first attempt at a tutorial, so please feel free to ask if anything is unclear.

Materials:

Kindle1

Main fabric
Cut two 6.5” x 9.25” (exterior panels)
Cut one 5” x 3.25” (tab closure)

Lining fabric
Cut two 6.5” x 8.75”
Cut one 5” x 3.25”

Cotton batting
Cut two 6.5” x 9.25”
Cut one 5” x 3.25”

Fusible interfacing: This is optional and may depend on the weight of your exterior fabric. I used medium-weight fabric, but I still interfaced it. My preferred fusible interfacing is Pellon SF-101 Stacy Shape Flex. I like to clip the corners to minimize the bulk a bit.
Cut two 6.5” x 9.25”
Cut one 5” x 3.25”

Velcro (3/4” wide): cut two strips 3.5” long

Seam Allowance:
The seam allowance is ½” throughout unless otherwise noted in specific steps.

Making the exterior:
1. If you are using fusible interfacing, fuse pieces to the wrong sides of exterior pieces.

2. Sew 1 piece of cotton batting to the wrong side of 1 exterior piece, stitching around sides and bottom using a ¼” seam.

3. Sew on the fuzzy Velcro piece 1.25” down from the top and 1.5” in from the sides on the right side of the same exterior piece as above. This will be the front of the padded sleeve.

Kindle2

4. Place the 2 exterior pieces right sides together. Lay the remaining main cotton batting piece on top. Sew around the sides and bottom. I like using the triple stitch (#18 on my machine) for an extra strong exterior seam. Trim excess fabric from the bottom corners and sides. Turn right side out and press.

Kindle6

Kindle7

Kindle8

Making the tab:
1. If you are using fusible interfacing, fuse piece to the wrong side of exterior tab piece.

2. Sew cotton batting to the wrong side of the lining tab piece, stitching around the sides and bottom using a ¼” seam.

3. Sew on the remaining Velcro piece 0.75” from the bottom and sides of the right side of the lining.

Kindle3

4. Place the lining and exterior tab pieces right sides together. Sew around the sides and bottom using the triple stitch. Trim excess fabric from the bottom corners and sides. Turn right side out and press.

Kindle9

Kindle10

Making the lining:
With right sides together, sew around the sides and bottom, leaving a 3” opening at the center of the bottom for turning.

Kindle5

Assembling the padded sleeve:
1. With right sides together, center the tab along the top middle of the back side of the exterior (which is the side without the Velcro piece). The tab will be about 0.75” in from the side seams. Sew on the tab very close to the edge or using a ¼” seam.

Kindle11

2. Slide the exterior of the sleeve (which is right side out) inside the lining (which is wrong side out), being careful to keep the tab tucked flat in between the exterior and the lining.

Kindle13

3. Line up both the side seams and the top edges. You will need to stuff the exterior into the lining a bit in order to line up the top edges.

4. Sew around the top edge. Again, I used the triple stitch here.

Kindle14

5. Pull the exterior through the hole in the lining and flip the lining right sides out. Press lining, and sew opening closed by hand or by stitching very close to the edge.

Kindle15

6. Stuff the lining all the way down inside the exterior and press.

7. Carefully topstitch around the top edge.

Kindle16

And you are done! This padded sleeve should be a very snug fit around your Kindle 3.

Kindle18

Kindle17

Terms of Use: For personal use only. Please do not sell these instructions or padded sleeves made from this tutorial.

2 Comments on “Padded Sleeve for Kindle 3”

  1. Beth says:

    That’s a great project and the tutorial looks very good! So far I haven’t been tempted to get a Kindle. But I can see the attraction after trying to read in bed last night!

  2. Oiyi says:

    Excellent gift! My husband just got the Nook Color and he loves it. I use my iPad for digital books, too, and it’s great.

    Thanks for the tutorial. Your Kindle case is very nice.