Pleated Shoulder Bags

Last year, I sewed Pleated Shoulder Bags as Christmas gifts for two of my dearest friends. I meant to post this in January, but never got around to it.

For the front, I chose an Etsuko Furaya fabric that had been in my stash for several years. The back and strap were made with dark gray wool, also from my stash.

Pleated Shoulder Bag

Pleated Shoulder Bag

Pleated Shoulder Bag

Pleated Shoulder Bag

Pleated Shoulder Bag

The pattern is excellent, with clear instructions and full-size pattern pieces. I thought the bags were simple yet elegant, and admittedly I had a hard time parting with them.

Fast forward to last week, and I finally made one for myself. I used the same gray wool for the back, while the front is a Scandinavian bird print purchased from Superbuzzy a couple of years ago.

Pleated Shoulder Bag

Pleated Shoulder Bag

I am quite happy with this bag. It was equally exciting to me that I had the time to make it!

3 Comments on “Pleated Shoulder Bags”

  1. Oiyi says:

    The bags are so pretty! And what a lovely shape. I can’t decided which fabric is my favorite.

  2. Lily says:

    OMG – these are so cute! You can sell them. I will buy one. 🙂

  3. erin says:

    Such pretty bags, love your fabric and colour choices.