Birthday Banner

My sweet girl turned one in January. The past year has flown by, and I am still adjusting to the idea that my baby is now technically a toddler.

We had a small family party for her in our home. For decorations, I sewed two fabric banners by following this bunting tutorial that I found via Pinterest.

IMG_2371

IMG_2366

I chose an orange and pink theme, and probably the hardest part for me was selecting the combination of fabrics. The rest was quite simple, and mostly I followed the tutorial. The only things I did differently were that I sewed 3/8″ around the sides of the triangles (instead of 1/2″), and I used a pinking blade on my rotary cutter (instead of pinking shears).

Birthday Banner

My husband suggested re-using them for subsequent birthdays. The crafter in me would prefer set these aside as keepsakes and then make something different every year, but time will tell whether I am ambitious enough to make that happen.

4 Comments on “Birthday Banner”

  1. Oiyi says:

    Awwww, Happy Belated Birthday to your little girl. Another January baby? How wonderful! M and I both have birthdays in Jan.

  2. joyce says:

    One already?! Time does fly fast…Happy “belated” Birthday to your little one! I love the birthday banner…it looks so beautifully sewn.

  3. Jen D says:

    so cute! The chinese person in me agrees w/ your hubby. The crafty girl in me says “Pish posh! another one will be made every year!” hahaha.

    happy birthday, Evie. 🙂

  4. kmckiernan says:

    That is so adorable! I can’t believe I have never made a bunting but I must make one now! 🙂